预测航运需求对保证运力至关重要

企业也必须提前进行生产规划,以适应新常态。
2021 年 10月 27 日 •

一年多以来,标有“恢复常态”和“集装箱运输”的门型柱一直都处于不断退缩的模糊状态。

2020年最后一个季度的“季节性冷淡”未能实现。2021年的春节本应是另一个重启的机会,但调度可靠性没有出现任何重大改善,运费也没有出现实质性的下降。

2021年第三季度是承运商高管们的下一个目标,希望能让设备和船只重新就位。然而,在旺季导致运费进一步上涨和服务中断之前,整个夏季的需求仍然居高不下。

航运分析公司Sea-Intelligence的数据显示,8月份全球船期的可靠性降到了33.6%的历史最低点。  航运僵局最明显的迹象是9月底在长滩和洛杉矶码头外排起了70艘集装箱船的长队。在北美最重要的集装箱港口,一些船只在排队等候卸货的过程中滞留了三个多星期。

但是,港口拥挤的问题并不局限于美国西海岸。Vessels Value报告显示,上个月有400多艘集装箱船在全球各地的港口排队。而在9月份,这种情况每天都在恶化。

将重点转移到关键的东西方贸易上

由于从亚洲到欧洲和美国的主要东西方航线的费率上升,承运商在寻求利润最大化的过程中对运力进行了转移。
根据 最新的敦豪海运市场更新报告,部署在亚洲-欧洲和亚洲-北美航线上的全球集装箱船队的份额从2020年7月1日的34.6%增长到2021年7月1日的41.4%。同时,跨太平洋地区的运力同比增长30.6%。

“远东-中东贸易的运力短缺不仅是港口拥堵的结果;许多船舶被重新部署到东西方的主要航线,以满足强劲的货物需求,并希望运费能够得到缓解,”敦豪全球货运部负责人Dominique von Orelli表示。

专注于关键的东西方航线的战略对承运商来说已经取得了巨大的成功,现在预计这些承运商在 2021年的税息前收益将达到1500亿美元(1300亿欧元)。 然而,船舶和设备被吸引到最有利可图的航线上后,其他地方的托运商也感受到了影响。

例如,跨大西洋航运的运费已经飙升,而 而远东-中东航线的运力却在降低。目前,由规模最大的集装箱公司经营的中国中部-中东专线的服务机构中,没有一家能够提供每周航班。9月14日,这些服务机构部署了29艘船,而根据Alphaliner的计算,需要50艘船才能满足预估的时间表。

因此,这条航线上几乎有一半的航班不得不停航,因为这些服务机构缺乏40%的预估运力。除此之外,还需要更多的船只,因为港口的拥挤和锚地等待时间过长,船只无法在七周内完成一次往返行程。

在设备短缺的情况下,与报酬较高的跨太平洋东行和远东西行航线一样,相同的集装箱之间也出现了持续的竞争。von Orelli说道:“随着经济的回升,亚太地区到拉丁美洲的服务都出现了强劲的需求,所以重点就是要有足够的设备来满足需求。”

2022年保持谨慎的乐观态度

随着需求没有显示出喘息的机会,不断出现的冲击将运费拉高,并从运输网络中夺走了运力,现在只能将乐观的想法转移到2022年。

“随着更多新集装箱的涌入,全球的集装箱供应正在改善,”敦豪全球货运亚太区首席执行官Kelvin Leung指出。

但我们也应该谨慎行事,因为在中国新年和北京冬奥会之前,中国的生产线可能会受到影响。因为中国的新年和冬奥会都在明年2月份,所以工厂是有可能减少排放的。

“早在2008年北京奥运会之前,我们就看到中国为了减少排放和改善空气质量而进行了停产。在冬奥会之前,我们可能再次看到这种情况,这是有可能的,”von Orelli表示。

因此,随着客户为迎接中国新年而将工厂关闭前会重建全球库存,预计对中国出口的需求将呈现增加趋势。然而,产出有可能在前期受到限制。

Leung补充说,虽然有强烈的需求,但在2023年之前不会看到有大量的船只涌入市场。“因此,我预计许多供应链挑战将在2022年继续存在,新冠肺炎疫情之前的状态将不会出现。但我确实认为,突破当前的一些瓶颈后,情况会有所改善,”Leung表示。

为了做好充分准备,Leung指出,在供应链和生产计划方面的提前规划是至关重要的。“除了提前规划之外,客户还应该了解一下他们所有的物流选择。 他们越能预测自己的需求,我们就越容易帮助他们确保运力,并确保他们获得一流的服务,”Leung说道。

Forecasting shipping requirements will be vital to securing capacity

Businesses must also plan production schedule ahead of time to adapt to the new normal.
27 October 2021 •

The goalposts marked ‘return to normalcy’ and ‘container shipping’ have been an ever-retreating blur for over a year.

The final quarter of the 2020 ‘seasonal lull’ failed to materialize. Chinese New Year 2021 was supposed to be another reset opportunity, but that too passed without major improvement in scheduling reliability or any meaningful subsidence of freight rates.

Q3 2021 was the next target for carrier executives hoping to get equipment and ships back in position. However, demand remained high through summer before the peak season delivered further price hikes and service disruption.

Global schedule reliability in August dropped to an all-time low of 33.6%, according to shipping analyst firm Sea-Intelligence. The most visible sign of the shipping logjam was the queue of 70 container ships off the coast of Long Beach and Los Angeles terminals at the end of September. Some vessels were stuck in queues for over three weeks, waiting to unload at North America’s premier box gateway.

But the problem of port congestion has not been confined to the U.S. West Coast. Vessels Value reported that over 400 container ships were in queues at ports worldwide last month, a situation that was worsening with every passing day in September.

Shifting the focus to key East-West trades

Due to rising rates on the key East-West routes from Asia to Europe and the U.S., carriers have diverted capacity as they seek to maximize profit. According to DHL’s latest Ocean Freight Market Update, the share of the global cellular fleet deployed on the Asia–Europe and Asia–North America trades increased from 34.6% on 1 July 2020 to 41.4% on 1 July 2021. Meanwhile, Trans-Pacific capacity rose 30.6% year-on-year.

“The shortage of capacity in the Far East–Middle East trade is not only a result of port congestion; many ships have been redeployed to the main East–West routes to meet the strong cargo demand and hopefully ease freight rates,” said Dominique von Orelli, Global Head, Ocean Freight, DHL Global Forwarding.

The strategy to focus on the key East-West routes has been enormously successful for carriers, which are now expected to make earnings before interest and tax of US$150 billion (€130 billion) in 2021. However, shippers elsewhere have felt the repercussions of ships and equipment being sucked onto the most profitable lanes.

For example, trans-Atlantic shipping freight rates have spiked while the Far East-Middle East service has seen reduced capacity. None of the dedicated Central China–Middle East services operated by the largest container lines currently offers weekly sailings. On 14 September, 29 ships were deployed on these services compared to the 50 ships Alphaliner calculates are required to meet pro forma schedules.

As a result, almost half of all sailings on this route have to be blanked, as the services lacked 40% of the pro forma capacity. On top of that, additional ships are required, as vessels can no longer complete a round trip in seven weeks due to port congestion and long waiting times at anchorage.

With an equipment shortage in place, there is an ongoing competition for the same containers as higher paying trans-Pacific eastbound and Far East westbound routes. “Asia Pacific to Latin America services are seeing strong demand as economies rebound, thus the focus is to match the demand with equipment,” said von Orelli.

Cautious optimism for 2022

With demand showing no respite and constant shocks driving up freight rates and taking capacity out of networks, optimistic eyes are now turning to 2022.

“The global supply of boxes is improving as more new containers enter circulation,” noted Kelvin Leung, CEO, DHL Global Forwarding Asia Pacific.

But this should be tempered with caution, as Chinese production lines might be impacted in the run-up to the Chinese New Year and the Beijing Winter Olympics. With both events falling in February next year, factory shutdowns are possible to cut emissions.

“Back in 2008 before the Olympics in Beijing we saw shutdowns to reduce emissions and improve air quality. It is not out of the question that we could see this again ahead of the Winter Olympics,” said von Orelli.

Thus, it is expected that demand will increase for China’s exports as customers rebuild global inventories ahead of Chinese New Year factory closures. However, there is a chance that output will be constrained in the lead-up.

Leung adds that while there is strong demand, the market will not see a significant influx of new ships until 2023. “Therefore, I expect many supply chain challenges to continue in 2022 and we won’t see a return to a pre-Covid-19 state. But I do expect the situation to improve as some current bottlenecks ease,” said Leung.

To be well-prepared, Leung notes that advanced planning in supply chains and production schedules is essential. “Other than planning, customers should also look at all their logistics options. The better they can forecast their requirements, the easier it is for us to help them secure capacity and ensure they receive best-in-class services,” said Leung.

How do you think we can improve similar articles in the future?

Please select a feedback option
Please leave a comment
Thank you for leaving your feedback