海洋运输船期安排困难重重

持续性港口堵塞和乌克兰局势变化导致了更大的不确定性。
Scheduling difficulties abound for ocean freight
2022 年 3月 16 日 •

几乎没有迹象表明,全球港口堵塞现象会在2022年上半年得到缓解,而空集装箱的增加和小型货船的部署使得港口和承运商很难清空积压的货物。

“供应链中断很有可能持续到今年年底,尤其是对于航空货运和海上货运,即使提高运力、设备利用率或船期可靠性,”敦豪全球货运亚太区首席执行官Kelvin Leung说道。

市场最终恢复正常后,运价也不太可能很快恢复到疫情前的水平。“我们必须适应新常态,而且希望疫情造成的中断在今年下半年有所改善,”Leung补充道。

运输时间延长

在亚洲到北欧、亚洲到美国的航线上,货船延误仍是一个大问题。Alphaliner的最新研究表明,从去年11月到今年2月,港口堵塞状况没有任何改善。(详见敦豪《海洋运输市场最新消息。)

《海洋运输市场最新消息》提到,洛杉矶/长滩的港口基础设施仍然高负荷运转,正在努力清空积压的货物。这发生在等待泊位的货船数量总体减少的情况下――从1月9日的最高109艘减少到2月14日的76艘。

过去几个月内,疫情导致的劳动力短缺现象越发严重,而且影响了港口作业。由于持续缺乏轨道车、卡车司机不足和底盘短缺,货物交付延迟现象仍然十分严重。

美国西海岸港口堵塞的另一个原因是来自远东地区的货船顺航运输时间延长。从洛杉矶港和长滩港到亚洲的运输间在2月份已经延长到平均38天,而在去年11月中旬为28天。

在远东地区与北欧之间的完整往返航程中,货船延误时间从去年11月至今保持不变,航线上投入运行的14,000到24,000艘20英尺标准集装箱货船仍比预定船期平均延长17天才能到达中国中部,然后投入下一次向西航行。“不在沿途港口停留似乎仍是避免或限制过长延误的唯一途径,”《海洋运输市场最新消息》提到。“我们预计这种情况将在今年上半年一直持续下去,有可能在今年下半年得到缓解。”

2月暴风雨天气导致的船期安排困难加剧了欧洲的港口堵塞。乌克兰局势肯定会影响北欧很多港口的生产力,其中运往俄罗斯的货物被扣押,等待进一步通知。

预计有更多货船在港口装卸

航运咨询公司Sea-Intelligence称,导致全球港口堵塞的另一个因素是主要航线上部署了更多货船。在疫情初期,随着空白船期的快速增加,部署在这些航线上的货船数量异常地大幅减少。

然而,在这个初期之后,部署货船数量先是恢复到正常水平,然后在2021年旺季结束前达到高位。Sea-Intelligence指出,2022年春节假期期间出现了暂时性下降,随后在我们展望2022年3月/4月时又开始急剧上升。

2022年3月/4月的预测增长可能会成为未来几个月内港口堵塞的主要因素。安排离开亚洲――随后到达北美洲西海岸――的货船数量将急剧增长,而且在疫情前正常水平基础上增长40%。这种情况本身会给港口基础设施带来更大的压力。

更令人担忧的是,未来几个月内,在亚洲与北美洲东海岸之间的贸易航线上,货船的数量将增长60%,因为承运商试图避开存在港口堵塞的西海岸。这会大大增加东海岸港口基础设施的压力。

持续性运输方式转变

不断变化的乌克兰局势也给亚洲与欧洲间的货运服务和运价带来了更大压力。运营商已经暂停了以俄罗斯为目的地的货运服务,让发货人不得不谨慎处理通过海洋和铁路网络在亚洲与欧洲之间开展的货运业务。

汇丰银行在3月初发布的《全球集装箱航运报告》指出,尽管需要更长的运输时间,但其中一些货物可以从铁路运输转为海运。“在亚欧贸易航线上,铁路运输货物转移50%相当于每周公称海运运力的3.2%,”汇丰银行航运和港口主管Parash Jain说道。

在亚洲,中国的严格抗疫政策也加剧了港口堵塞现象。“珠江三角洲的堵塞状况有所加剧,很可能是因为深圳实行了与疫情有关的动态封锁。我们预计中国的严格抗疫政策会持续下去,打乱本已脆弱的供应链,”Jain说道。

供需平衡的持续紧张有可能进一步推高即期运价――不仅仅在亚欧之间,而是在全世界范围内。

敦豪全球货运海运部全球主管Dominique von Orelli说道:“敦豪正在密切监视运输模式可能变为海运对欧洲服务的影响。我们将继续保证客户能够获得充足的运力,但也会敦促他们及早预订。”

Scheduling difficulties abound for ocean freight

Ongoing port congestions and an evolving situation in Ukraine are contributing to further uncertainties.
Scheduling difficulties abound for ocean freight
16 March 2022 •

There is little sign that global port congestion is easing in the early months of 2022, with build-ups of empty containers and the deployment of smaller vessels making it difficult for ports and carriers to clear backlogs.

“Disruption in the supply chain is likely to persist through this year, particularly for air freight and sea freight, be it uplift capacity, availability of equipment or reliability of sailing schedules,” said Kelvin Leung, CEO, DHL Global Forwarding Asia Pacific.

Freight rates are also not likely to return to pre-pandemic times immediately when the market eventually normalizes. “We must adapt to the new normal and be hopeful that Covid-19 disruptions will see some improvements in the second half of the year,” added Leung.

Increased transit times

Vessel delays remain a significant problem on both the Asia–North Europe and Asia–US trades. Neither saw any improvement in port congestion between November and February, according to the latest research from Alphaliner, as detailed in DHL’s March Ocean Freight Market Update.

The Los Angeles/Long Beach infrastructure continues to be heavily congested and is struggling to clear cargo backlogs, notes the Update. This is despite an overall decline in the number of ships waiting for a berth, dropping from a peak of 109 ships on 9 January to 76 ships on 14 February.

Labour shortages due to Covid-19 reasons have increased in the last months and are impacting terminal operations. Deliveries are still heavily delayed because of a persisting lack of rail cars, a shortage of truckers and a chassis deficit.

Another reason for congestion at U.S. west coast ports is the increased front-haul transit time for ships sailing from the Far East. Transit times to the ports of Los Angeles and Long Beach from Asia rose to an average of 38 days in February, up from 28 days in mid-November.

Vessel delays for ships on a full Far East–North Europe round voyage were unchanged from November, with the 14,000 – 24,000 TEU ships deployed on services still requiring an average of 17 days more than their pro forma schedules to reach Central China for their next westbound trip. “Skipping port calls still appears to be the only way to avoid or limit lengthy delays,” notes the Update. “We expect the situation to persist through 1H 2022 with a possible improvement in 2H 2022.”

Scheduling difficulties due to stormy weather in February have added to port congestion in Europe. The situation in Ukraine is also set to impact productivity in many northern European ports, with Russia-bound cargo suspended until further notice.

More vessels expected to load ports

Another contributing factor to global port congestion is the deployment of more vessels on key routes, according to analyst firm Sea-Intelligence. During the early pandemic period, there was an unusually large decline in the number of deployed vessels as blank sailings rose rapidly.

But after this early phase, the number of deployed vessels first returned to normal levels, and then reached a high point towards the end of peak season 2021. Sea-Intelligence notes that there was a temporary drop for Chinese New Year 2022, followed by a very sharp upwards correction as we get into the current outlook for March/April 2022.

The forecast increase in March/April 2022 could be a key factor in port congestion in the months ahead. The number of vessels scheduled to depart Asia – and subsequently arrive on the North American West Coast – will increase sharply and surpass a 40 percent growth on the pre-pandemic normality. This in itself will add further pressure on port infrastructure.

What is more alarming is that there will be a 60 percent increase in the number of vessels on the Asia-North America East Coast trade lane in the coming months, as carriers try to circumnavigate port congestion on the West Coast. This will severely increase pressure on the port infrastructure on the East Coast.

Ongoing modal shift

The evolving situation in Ukraine is also increasing pressure on freight services and rates between Asia and Europe. Operators are suspending Russia-bound services, causing shippers to be wary about sending shipments between Asia and Europe via both the sea and rail network.

An early March ‘Global Container Shipping’ report by HSBC noted that some of these cargoes could switch from rail to ocean shipping, despite longer transit times. “A 50 percent diversion of rail cargoes would equate to 3.2 percent of the weekly nominal ocean capacity on the Asia-Europe trade route,” said Parash Jain, Head of Shipping & Ports at HSBC.

In Asia, China’s strict Covid-19 policies are also adding to port disruption. “Congestion picked up in the Pearl River Delta, likely due to the Covid-19 related dynamic lockdown in Shenzhen. We expect China’s strict Covid-19 policy might continue to disrupt the fragile supply chains,” noted Jain.

Continued tightness in the supply-demand balance could potentially lift spot freight rates further -- not just on Asia-Europe but globally.

Dominique von Orelli, Global Head, Ocean Freight, DHL Global Forwarding, said: “DHL is closely monitoring the impact of any potential modal shift to ocean on European services. We will continue to ensure customers have adequate capacity available but urge them to book early.”

How do you think we can improve similar articles in the future?

Please select a feedback option
Please leave a comment
Thank you for leaving your feedback