ALSO WORTH READING

港口拥堵奠定了2022年变化无常的基调

港口仍将成为供应链中的瓶颈,运力和可靠性只有到今年下半年或者明年才有可能稳定下来。
Port congestions set the tone for a volatile 2022
2022 年 1月 13 日 •

港口拥堵仍在继续,而且缓解瓶颈的努力收效甚微,给2022年海洋货运的前景蒙上了一层阴影。

虽然即将来临的春节有助于在一定程度上缓解积压状况,但本年度余下时间内供应情况很可能仍然变化无常,只有到2023年情况才会有所改善。

“我们预计2022年是一个变化无常的一年,虽然情况会有所改善,但我预计市场行情仍然与2021年几乎相同,甚至可能更具挑战性,”DHL全球货运亚太区首席执行官Kelvin Leung说道。

今年年初,预计2022年贸易和经济增长前景将看好。然而,港口拥堵现象仍然存在,给班轮业务的稳定性造成了很大影响。

《DHL海运市场展望》(2022-2024年)报告提到,承运商的船期可靠性目前处于历史最低水平,即使是表现最好的承运商也很难达到45%“准时”的水平,表现最差的承运商已经跌破20%大关。

挥之不去的新冠肺炎疫情阴影

新冠肺炎疫情本身仍是主要的不利因素。由于高度传染性奥密克戎毒株的传播,新的旅行限制给包括香港在内的主要空运枢纽造成了影响,导致很多航班被取消。

对集装箱运输利益相关方损害更大的是去年12月产生于中国工业中心宁波的一连串新冠肺炎病例。2021年下半年,依照中国严格的零疫情政策,宁波已经进行了一连串的部分封锁。

根据各项报道,最近一次疫情爆发,由德尔塔毒株引起,发生在北仑区一家服装公司。北仑区是一个重要的制造业中心,也是多个集装箱码头的所在地。

宁波的最近封锁危及了该地区在春节工厂关闭前尽量保持制造业产量的能力,而且影响了卡车运输服务的效率和宁波舟山港的运营。宁波舟山港按吞吐量计算是全世界第三大集装箱枢纽。

在中国其他地方,长江是内地工业集中区与沿海港口之间的主要运输通道。今年年初,长江航运陷入一片混乱,因为2021年下半年有两名领航员核酸检测为阳性,导致大约200名船舶领航员被隔离14天。

由于很大一部分运力被困在港口,因此今年年初,集装箱货运市场再次收紧。上海出口集装箱运价指数(SCFI)是中国之外集装箱运价市场的晴雨表,当时有史以来首次突破5,000点大关。与2020年12月31日的2,783点相比是一个巨大增长。

转移问题

除此之外,其他因素也给快速恢复带来了挑战。供应链还受到东南亚暴雨的冲击,其中马来西亚的山洪爆发造成的延误让巴生港蒙受数百万美元的损失

在某些情形下,缓解瓶颈的工作增加了不确定性。某些承运商选择跳港,但给通过这些港口运输的客户造成了严重后果。多次跳港的情况也使得难以衡量班轮服务的可靠性。

长滩港和洛杉矶港都已采取措施缓解港口拥堵,其中包括对逗留超过规定时间的集装箱收取额外费用。然而,这样做只是将船只转移到港口外的锚地,或者导致船只减速航行或者转道备选港口。

预计从2023开始恢复新常态

然而,保持一定程度的谨慎乐观是有原因的。承运商一直尝试通过增加航班来填补空缺。另一方面,不少企业学会了尽可能地对订单进行规划以保障运力。

今年春节期间通常的制造业减速有希望缓解这个状况。“我们希望需求减少可以缓解某些港口的拥堵状况,而且让承运商的船期可靠性达到较为正常的水平,”Leung说道。

然而,在2022年大部分时间里,港口瓶颈很可能在海运供应链的效率和可靠性方面起到举足轻重的作用。根据杰富瑞集团分析师Randy Giveans的计算,去年11月,平均有36.2%的集装箱船运力拥堵在港口。

DHL全球货运海运部全球主管Dominique von Orelli称,至少在今年上半年内,供需状况仍然与去年相似。“我们预计2022年上半年供应状况的易变性仍将基本沿着2021年相似的轨迹发展,”von Orelli说道。

杰富瑞集团Giveans还认为缓解瓶颈所做的努力可能会在今年晚些时候取得成果。“2022年内,随着拥堵问题的缓解,运价很可能会从峰值水平回落,”他说道。

然而,《DHL海运市场展望》(2022-2024年)报告称,只有等积压需求得到满足――部分通过投入新运力,全球GDP增长才会进入较为正常的模式。报告提到,集装箱船订单数量达到了过去十年内的最高水平,其中大多数集装箱船在中国建造。如果集装箱产量保持稳定,那么随着最近订单开始交付,2023年供应增长速度将超过需求增长速度。

2023年和2024年,随着设备可用性的提高以及全球港口拥堵状况的缓解,运价将逐渐稳定。然而,需要注意的是运价将远高于疫情爆发前的水平。

与此同时,客户应当与运输合作伙伴密切合作,保护自身在危机最严重的时期不受影响。“为了在短期和中期内保障海运供应链,建议客户根据准确的库存和订单预测提前进行规划,并且考虑与承运商签订长期协议,”von Orelli说道。

Port congestions set the tone for a volatile 2022

Ports will remain a bottleneck in the supply chain, with capacity and reliability only likely to stabilize later in this year or next.
Port congestions set the tone for a volatile 2022
13 January 2022 •

Ongoing port congestion, and the limited success of efforts to ease bottlenecks, have dampened hopes of a brighter outlook for ocean freight in 2022.

Although the upcoming Chinese New Year may help ease some of the backlog, supply is likely to remain volatile through the remainder of the year, with conditions improving only in 2023.

“We’re expecting 2022 to be volatile, and while there will be improvements, I would expect the market conditions will remain pretty much the same as 2021, if not more challenging,” said Kelvin Leung, CEO, DHL Global Forwarding Asia Pacific.

At the turn of the year, prospects for trade and economic growth in 2022 were expected to brighten. However ports remain congested, taking a heavy toll on the reliability of liner services.

DHL’s Ocean Freight Market Outlook 2022-2024 report notes that carrier schedule reliability is now at an all-time low, with even the best performing carriers barely managing 45 percent ‘on-time’ performance and the worst falling below the 20 percent mark.

Covid-19’s long shadow

Covid-19 itself remains a key antagonist. The spread of the highly infectious Omicron variant has led to numerous flights being cancelled due to new travel restrictions that impacted major cargo hubs including Hong Kong.

More damaging for container shipping stakeholders was a spate of Covid-19 cases in the Chinese industrial hub of Ningbo in late December. Ningbo had already suffered a string of partial lockdowns under China’s strict zero-Covid policy during the second half of 2021.

The latest outbreak, in this case of the Delta variant according to various reports, took place at a clothing company in the Beilun District, a significant hub for both manufacturers as well as home to a string of container terminals.

The latest lockdown in Ningbo threatened the region’s ability to keep its manufacturing output at full pelt ahead of Chinese New Year factory closures. It also impacted the efficiency of trucking services and the operation of Ningbo-Zhoushan port, the world’s third largest container hub by volume.

Elsewhere in China, shipping on the Yangtze River, a key artery between industrial conurbations inland and coastal ports, was thrown into disarray at the turn of the year when some 200 vessel pilots were placed in 14-day quarantines after two pilots tested positive for Covid-19 in late 2021.

With so much capacity tied up at ports, the container shipping freight market tightened once again at the turn of the year. The Shanghai Containerized Freight Index (SCFI), a bellwether of container freight markets ex-China, broke through the 5,000 mark for the first time in its history. This is a huge annual rise when compared to the 2,783 points recorded on 31 December 2020.

Moving the problem

Atop that, other forces are challenging any quick recovery. Supply chains have also been buffeted by heavy rain fall across South East Asia, with flash flooding in Malaysia resulting in delays costing millions at Port Klang.

Efforts to alleviate bottlenecks have in some cases contributed to the uncertainty. Some carriers have opted to omit some ports but this has had significant consequences for customers shipping via these ports. Multiple port omissions have also made it difficult to measure the reliability of liner services.

Measures have been put in place to alleviate port congestion at the ports of Long Beach and Los Angeles, which includes additional charges for containers that stay beyond a stipulated timeline. This, however, have only served to move vessels to anchorages outside ports or had resulted in vessels slow steaming or being diverted to alternative ports.

Expected recovery to a new normal from 2023

But there are reasons for some cautious optimism. Carriers have been trying to fill gaps in the schedule by organizing extra sailings. Many businesses, on the other hand, have learned to plan their orders as far as possible to secure capacity.

There are hopes that the usual slowdown in manufacturing over Chinese New Year in February may help. “We are hopeful that the reduction in demand will ease the congestion situation at some ports, and help bring the reliability of the carrier schedules to a more normal situation,” said Leung.

But bottlenecks at ports are likely to play a major role in the efficiency and reliability of ocean supply chains for most of 2022. Jefferies analyst Randy Giveans calculated that in November last year, an average of 36.2 percent of total boxship capacity was stuck at ports.

Dominique von Orelli, Global Head, Ocean Freight, DHL Global Forwarding, notes that the supply and demand situation, at least for the first half of the year, will remain similar to last year. ”We are expecting volatility in supply in the first half of 2022 to continue largely along similar lines as 2021,” said von Orelli.

Jefferies’ Giveans also believes efforts to reduce bottlenecks may yield fruit later in the year. “It is likely that freight rates will soften from these peak levels during 2022 as congestion problems ease,” he noted.

However, it will only be when pent-up demand is satisfied – in part by an influx of new capacity – that global GDP growth will settle into a more regular pattern, according to the DHL Ocean Freight Market Outlook 2022-2024 report. The report noted that container vessel order books are at the highest level in 10 years, with the majority of container vessels being built in China. Should container production remain stable, supply growth will overtake demand growth in 2023 as recent orders start to be delivered.

In 2023 and 2024, when the availability of equipment has improved, and global port congestion has eased, freight rates will gradually stabilize. The caveat, however, is that rates will be at far higher levels than pre-Covid days.

In the meantime, customers should work closely with their shipping partners to protect themselves from the worst of the crisis. "To secure ocean freight supply chains in the short- and medium-term, customers are advised to plan ahead with accurate inventory and order forecasts, and consider long-term agreements with carriers,” said von Orelli.

How do you think we can improve similar articles in the future?

Please select a feedback option
Please leave a comment
Thank you for leaving your feedback