新西兰新租户为敦豪带来可持续发展启发

蜂巢租赁帮助蜜蜂在意想不到的地方茁壮生长,启发了DHL从不同的角度思考供应链。
2021 年 12月 14 日 •

每天早上5点,养蜂者Ibrahim Mohammed都会赶往新西兰南奥克兰的数百个蜂巢。Mohammed是总部设在奥克兰的BeezThingz公司的主管,这家公司主要向养蜂者租赁和销售蜂群和蜂巢,目的是保护这个受威胁的物种或者需要它们进行传粉。最近,这些蜂群在一个新的地点安家了:四座供应链仓库。

这个新住所是由DHL新西兰团队建造的,这个团队一直致力于推进运营可持续性。这个养蜂项目不仅为客户和员工提供了新鲜的蜂蜜,还表达了对蜜蜂的深深敬意。这些蜜蜂给他们带来了重要启发,尤其是在建立可持续供应链方面。

“从工蜂到蜂王,每一类蜜蜂都以某种方式为蜂群做出贡献,”Mohammed说道。“蜂王就像将整个蜂巢凝聚为一体的董事总经理。她手下的工蜂负责采集和生产蜂蜜,而年幼的蜜蜂负责处理内务、照顾幼虫并将蜂蜜送入蜂窝。”

“我们可以从蜜蜂身上学到很多东西。无论发生什么,它们都会按部就班地做好自己的本职工作,并最终拿出成果,”Mohammed说道。

在DHL供应链仓库不断壮大的蜂巢是“兴旺计划”的一部分。兴旺计划是一项可持续发展计划,由Nini Tran牵头,CareyAnne De Goede提供支持。他们都是DHL供应链新西兰分公司业务拓展和营销团队的成员。

“除实行更环保的仓储作业措施外,我们还应该在更多的领域发挥自身的作用,”Tran说道。

蜜蜂是一个显而易见的选择,尤其是在一个以蜂蜜著称的国家。

全球#拯救蜜蜂活动对于食品安全和生态至关重要

蜜蜂是多种重要植物的传粉昆虫之一。蜜蜂可为130多种水果和蔬菜传粉。巧克力、坚果和辛香料等人们每天大量摄入的食物都需要蜜蜂传粉。由蜜蜂传粉的全球农作物产量价值达到了5770亿美元(4954.3亿欧元)。

“如果世界上没有传粉昆虫,那么世界上就不会有巧克力了,”食品和农业研究员Hannah Ritchie称。

然而,由于农药、气候变化,以及工业化和单一作物栽培导致的栖息地和生物多样性损失等因素的威胁,全球蜜蜂种群数量多年来不断减少。根据Mohammed的经验,全年气温升高会让捕食蜜蜂的天敌黄蜂活跃时间延长。

各全球性粮食组织及联合国发出拯救蜜蜂的紧急呼吁后,有关组织设立了育蜂认证(Bee Better Certified),旨在推广蜜蜂友好型产品和业务。养蜂者最近甚至在社交媒体上引起了一定的关注,提出希望人们提升对蜂群的认识、战胜对蜂群的恐惧情绪。

数字化推动蜂巢蓬勃发展

在建造蜂巢前,BeezThingz公司指导DHL团队进行蜂巢管理并采取安全措施。蜂巢选在一个五公里半径内均为植被覆盖的地方,且应尽可能减小蜜蜂飞行路线与行人或车辆交通线路交叉的风险。

通过与BeezThingz公司合作,DHL进入了规模庞大、充满活力的新西兰养蜂生态系统。20多年来,BeezThingz公司在幼儿园和城市屋顶等不同地点安全地建造了蜂巢。

公司创办人、奥克兰本地人Kerry McCurdy创办这家公司是为了资助保护蜜蜂不受蜂蟎(一种依赖蜜蜂取食、可以严重破坏整个蜂群的寄生虫)侵害的研究。然而,在二十年的经营中,蜜蜂受到的威胁反而更加严重。

为了监测蜜蜂,BeezThingz公司采用了McCurdy的儿子、IT专业人士Julian McCurdy开发的软件。之后Julian也加入了父亲的公司,担任经理和养蜂者。Julian开发的Buzztech软件――本身也是一家公司――可以收集数据,让养蜂者能够跟踪并优化蜂群的健康状况并在实地走访期间记录观察结果。

另外,蜂巢传感器可以让养蜂者根据蜂巢温度等参数,远程监测蜂群的能量水平和营养需求,甚至能帮助养蜂者预测分群等事件――是指蜂群增长到超出蜂巢容量的规模,开始大批建造新蜂巢的现象。

所有这些都给DHL团队留下了非常深刻的印象。

DHL供应链新西兰分公司董事总经理Matt Casbolt对蜜蜂在宏大生态系统中发挥的作用感到震惊。“与有效供应链一样,蜜蜂在宏大生态系统中发挥着独特而不可或缺的作用,”他说道。“为了实现DHL广泛的可持续性承诺,我们正在积极推动绿色运营并致力于在我们运营的当地社区发挥积极影响,兴旺计划就是一个很好的例子。”

凭借合理的规划和从新西兰仓库蜂巢获得的经验, Tran和DeGoede现在着手将兴旺计划扩展到澳大利亚敦豪仓库,而且还可能推广到该地区其他国家。这项计划也为员工和社区参与创造了机会。

DHL employees came together to plant wildflower beds on World Bee Day in planters built with upcycled old or broken pallets

“凭借兴旺计划,我们希望能为支持本地蜜蜂种群的发展尽绵薄之力,”DeGoede说道。“蜜蜂是个重要物种,我们希望与整个社会共同努力,与威胁蜜蜂、环境和食物来源的因素作斗争。”

In New Zealand, DHL’s new tenants offer some lessons in sustainability

Beehive rentals are helping honeybees to thrive in unexpected locations, and inspiring their hosts to think differently about supply chains.
14 December 2021 •

At 5 am each morning, beekeeper Ibrahim Mohammed sets off to tend to hundreds of beehives in South Auckland, New Zealand. Mohammed is the director of Auckland-based company BeezThingz, which rents and sells bee colonies and hives largely to backyard beekeepers who want to protect the threatened species or need them for pollination. Most recently, these colonies have been buzzing around a new locale: on the grounds of four supply chain warehouses.

The new abode was set up by DHL’s New Zealand team, who have been pushing hard for more sustainable operations. Their efforts have yielded not only free honey for customers and employees, but also a deep respect for bees and the lessons they can offer, not least about building sustainable supply chains.

“Each type of bee, from worker bees to the queen, has a role that contributes to the colony,” said Mohammed. “A queen bee is like the Managing Director that keeps a hive together. Her worker bees collect and produce honey, while the younger bees do the housekeeping, tending to larvae and capping honey into cells.”

“We can learn so much from bees. No matter what happens, they keep tracking along and doing their own thing to produce results in the end,” Mohammed noted.

The beehives thriving at DHL Supply Chain's warehouses are part of Project Bloom, a sustainability initiative led by Nini Tran and supported by CareyAnne De Goede, both part of the Business Development and Marketing team at DHL Supply Chain New Zealand.

"On top of implementing more environmentally-conscious warehousing operations, we thought that we could play out part across different business functions as well," said Tran.

Bees were an obvious choice, especially in a country famous for its honey.

Global #SaveTheBees movement central to food security and ecology

Honeybees are among the many creatures that act as vital plant pollinators. Honeybees alone pollinate over 130 types of fruits and vegetables. Many of these are foods that people consume every day in vast quantities, such as chocolate, nuts, and spices. Global crop production pollinated by bees is valued at US$577 billion (EUR495.43 billion).

“A world without pollinators would mean a world without chocolate,” reported food and agriculture researcher Hannah Ritchie.

However, the global bee population has been in decline for years due to several threats including pesticides, climate change, and loss in habitats and biodiversity caused by industrialization and monoculture farming. In Mohammed’s experience, warmer temperatures throughout the year have also allowed wasps, the bees’ natural predator, to stay active for longer periods of time.

Following urgent calls by global food organizations and the United Nations to save the bees, the “Bee Better Certified” seal was developed to promote bee-friendly products and businesses. Beekeepers have even recently caught some attention on social media hoping to raise awareness and fight fears of bee swarms.

Thriving hives driven by digitalization

Before setting up the hives, BeezThingz guided the DHL team on hive management and safety measures. Bees thrive off a five-kilometer radius of vegetation and hives should be carefully placed to minimize risks of flight paths crossing into human or vehicle traffic.

Working with BeezThingz places DHL within a wide and vibrant beekeeping ecosystem in New Zealand. For over 20 years, BeezThingz has safely set up hives in diverse locations, from kindergartens to urban rooftops.

The company’s founder, Auckland local Kerry McCurdy, started the company to fund research on protecting bees from varroa mites — parasites that feed off honeybees, and can cripple whole colonies. In two decades of operations, however, threats to honeybees have only gotten more severe.

To monitor the bees, BeezThingz uses software developed by McCurdy’s son, IT professional Julian McCurdy, who eventually joined his father’s venture as manager and beekeeper. Buzztech, Julian McCurdy’s software — and a company in itself — collects data for beekeepers to track and optimize the health of hives and record their observations during on-site visits.

In addition, hive sensors allow beekeepers to remotely monitor the colonies’ energy levels and nutritional needs, using factors like hive temperature. They can even help keepers to forecast events like swarming, which happens when bee colonies outgrow their hives and move in large swarms to begin new ones.

All this has left quite an impression on the DHL team.

Matt Casbolt, Managing Director of DHL Supply Chain New Zealand, has been struck by the bees' role in a wider ecosystem. “Like an effective supply chain, honeybees play unique but essential roles within a larger ecosystem,” he said. “Project Bloom has done well to support DHL’s larger commitments to sustainability, where we are working actively towards greener operations and making a positive impact on the communities in which we operate.”

With a healthy blueprint and lessons learned from New Zealand’s warehouse hives, Tran and DeGoede are now working on expanding Project Bloom to DHL’s warehouses in Australia and potentially other countries in the region. The project has also opened opportunities for employee and community engagement.

DHL employees came together to plant wildflower beds on World Bee Day in planters built with upcycled old or broken pallets

“With Project Bloom, we hope to play even a small part to support local bee communities,” said DeGoede. “Bees are such a vital species, and we want to join the fight to help counter the threats that are harming bees, as well as threatening our environment and food sources.”

How do you think we can improve similar articles in the future?

Please select a feedback option
Please leave a comment
Thank you for leaving your feedback