海运中断导致空运运力紧缩

空运运力紧缩,需求和运费预计将保持高位,部分原因是由于海运陷入重重困境。
2021 年 9月 08 日 •

今年夏天,随着新冠疫情封锁措施继续导致空运和海运供应链混乱,所有目光都集中在亚洲。

在第二季度盐田港口关闭后,8月份中国宁波港口爆发了新冠疫情,导致更多的班轮服务中断和运力损失—加重了全球船期的混乱,导致运费进一步上涨,使更多的托运人转向航空货运解决方案。

与此同时,中国空运业一直在应对自身的障碍。最大的障碍是继8月份搬运工人中发生新冠疫情后,上海浦东国际机场(PVG)暂停了货运业务。

暂停货运业务增加了中国出口航线的不确定性,特别是在隔离检疫措施已经导致运力削减的上海。根据供应链风险分析平台Everstream Analytics发布的一份报告,8月初运力仅为33%的上海浦东国际机场爆发的疫情可能会导致自2021年7月以来开始形成的空运货物积压数量的增加。

敦豪全球货运空运业务主管Thomas Mack评论称,2021年初供应链中断的教训是,空运可以帮助那些寻求供应链确定性的人克服困难。

他说:“7月和8月,在中国中部和越南发生的港口关闭,对海洋航运业的影响程度超过了今年年初因长赐号集装箱货轮堵塞导致苏伊士运河关闭产生的影响。”

“当时空运需求立即上升,而现在由于港口生产效率下降和宁波一些码头关闭,我们看到了在中国和越南发生了同样的情况。这导致了一些航线的空运量增加,特别是进入美国和拉丁美洲的航线,那里的进口量环比增长了近40%。”

因中断和即将到来的旺季导致的供应紧

除了新冠疫情导致的港口和机场生产率损失外,中国的物流也因夏季洪水泛滥而受阻。

在其他地方,国际民用航空组织(ICAO)关于美国100%货物检查的新规定导致机场货物积压,而第二季度盐田港口关闭和由此导致的航班延迟,使美国船只排着长队等待,同时也使更多的人从海运转向空运。

根据敦豪航空行业货运动态报告,由于数量巨大,法兰克福机场、奥黑尔国际机场和阿姆斯特丹机场也出现延误现象,预计运输时间将在数周内受到负面影响。

8月份的早期指标显示,大多数贸易航线的需求保持稳定,与7月份受运力紧缩影响最严重的区域以外的相对平稳的空运需求保持一致。

然而,7月份运力仍受到牢牢制约。可用的运力,虽然高于2020年(当时运力严重下降),但是仍比2019年新冠疫情爆发前的水平低23%。

来源:DHL航空货运行业动态

根据数据分析公司克莱夫数据服务公司和塔克指数进行的最新航空货运分析,运力下降导致动载因子比2019年提高了5%--这是根据流动的货物体积和重量以及可用的运力计算的--但比2020年同月下降了3%。

事实上,克莱夫的总裁Niall van de Wouw在分析中指出,7月份的动载因子为66%,是自新冠疫情爆发以来的最低记录。

van de Wouw在报告中表示:“假期的开始及其对航空货运量的传统影响显然是一个因素,但很明显,航空公司也在不断调整运力。”

“需求尚未回升,所以他们在严格管理供应。与一年前相比,取得的成效与2019年7月持平,这当然不是坏消息,但供需比将保持紧缩,特别是没有任何迹象表明,洲际间客运市场将会在短期内复苏。”

需求和运费预计将保持强劲

不出所料,供需平衡使运费保持在较高的水平。7月份,波罗的海空运指数(BAI)的月平均值比6月份提高了2%,尽管比5月份创下的年初至今的最高点低了6%。

总体指数很乐观,与去年7月相比,提高了38%,比2019年提高了98%,反映了需求的状态和运力的限制。

敦豪全球货运亚太区首席执行官Kelvin Leung表示,“由于需求健康增长,运力受限,我们预计运费将保持高位”。他进一步补充说,“由于最近对上海浦东国际机场的工人和操作人员实施了新的新冠疫情防控措施,即将到来的旺季可能在操作上存在挑战性。我们鼓励客户提前做好发货计划安排。”

并非只是Leung预计未来几个月需求和运费将保持强劲。

投资银行Stifel的全球物流副总裁Bruce Chan在波罗的海交易所月度总结报告中说,有迹象表明,在美国针对第四季度节假日高峰的季节性扩产/扩量工作已经开始,而库存与销售量比仍接近历史最低点。

Chan表示:“有趣的是,一家大型零售商表示,即使他们已关闭了所有的门店,只专注于补充库存积压货物,但是仍需要几个月才能恢复正常。因此,除了满足强劲的新需求外,托运人还在拼命迎头赶上。”

与此同时,TAC Index公司的Gareth Sinclair补充说,由于经济复苏、电子商务繁荣以及海运行业遭遇运力和经营挑战,航空货运需求将继续高于2020年水平。

他补充说:“与去年和新冠疫情爆发前的水平相比,运价继续保持强劲。随着需求继续大于供应,预计在可预见的未来,情况会依然如此。”

Air cargo capacity tightens in the aftermath of ocean freight disruptions

Demand and rates are expected to remain elevated as capacity tightens for air freight, partly driven by difficulties in ocean freight.
08 September 2021 •

All eyes have been on Asia this summer as coronavirus lockdowns continue to cause chaos in the air and ocean supply chains.

Following the shutdown of the Port of Yantian in the second quarter, a Covid-19 outbreak at the port in Ningbo, China, in August saw more liner service disruption and capacity losses — adding to the disarray of global schedules, pushing freight rates higher, and encouraging more shippers to turn to air cargo solutions.

Meanwhile, the air freight industry in China has been contending with its own obstacles. The most sizable was the recent suspension of freighter operations at Shanghai Pudong International Airport (PVG) following a Covid-19 outbreak among cargo handlers in August.

The suspensions added to uncertainty on ex-China routes, especially at Shanghai where quarantine measures had already cut capacity. The outbreak at PVG, which was only operating at 33 percent capacity in early August, will likely add to the backlog of air cargo shipments that has started to build up since July 2021, according to a report by supply chain risk analytics platform Everstream Analytics.

Thomas Mack, Global Head, Air Freight, DHL Global Forwarding, said that the lesson from earlier 2021 supply chain disruptions was that air cargo would be the mode of refuge for those seeking supply chain certainty.

“The port closures, not only in central China but also in Vietnam in July and August, have affected the ocean shipping industry more than the closure of the Suez Canal following the Ever Given blockage earlier this year,” he said.

“We saw an immediate increase in air freight demand then, and we’re seeing the same now in China and Vietnam due to port productivity declines and the closure of some terminals at Ningbo. This has led to an increase in air freight volumes on some lanes, especially into the U.S. and Latin America where import volumes have grown by nearly 40 percent month-on-month.”

Tight supply caused by disruptions, upcoming peak season

Aside from Covid-related port and airport productivity losses, logistics in China has also been hampered by widespread flooding over the summer.

Elsewhere, new rules by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) for 100 percent cargo screening in the U.S. are causing backlogs at airports, while the second quarter closure of the port of Yantian and the resulting sailing delays have led to long vessel queues in the U.S. and more ocean-to-air freight conversions.

According to the DHL Air Freight State of the Industry, delays were also evident at Frankfurt, O’Hare International and Amsterdam airports due to heavy volumes, with transit times expected to be negatively impacted for a number of weeks.

Early indicators in August suggest that demand is steady on most trade lanes, in keeping with a relatively quiet July for air cargo outside of those areas most afflicted by capacity crunches.

Capacity, however, remained tightly constrained in July. Available capacity, while higher compared to 2020 when there was a severe decline in capacity, is still -23 percent below the level seen in 2019 before the pandemic took hold.

Source: DHL Air Freight State of the Industry

According to the latest air cargo analysis by data analytics firm CLIVE Data Services and TAC Index, reduced capacity contributed to a +5 percent points rise in dynamic load factor versus 2019 — measured against both the volume and weight of cargo flown and capacity available — but a -3 percent points drop over the same month in 2020.”

Indeed, Niall van de Wouw, CLIVE’s Managing Director, noted in the analysis that the dynamic load factor for July of 66 percent was the lowest recorded since the onset of the pandemic.

“The start of the holiday season and its traditional impact on air cargo volumes is obviously a factor, but it’s also clear that airlines are constantly tweaking capacity,” van de Wouw said in the report.

“Demand has not picked up yet, so they are tightly managing supply. Compared to where the market was a year ago, performance on a par with July 2019 is certainly not bad news, but the demand versus supply ratio is going to remain tight, especially with no signals that the inter-continental passenger market is going to recover anytime soon.”

Demand and rates expected to remain strong

That supply-demand balance is unsurprisingly keeping freight rates at elevated levels. The BAI (Baltic Air Freight Indices) monthly average increased by 2 percent in July over June, although it was 6 percent below the year-to-date high seen in May.

The overall index was positive versus July last year at +38 percent and versus 2019 by +98 percent, reflecting both demand and constraints in capacity.

“We expect rates will remain heightened due to healthy demand growth against limited capacity,” said Kelvin Leung, CEO, DHL Global Forwarding Asia Pacific. “The upcoming peak season will likely be operationally challenging due to the recent new Covid-19 measures imposed on the workers and operators at the PVG airport. We encourage our customers to plan well ahead for their shipping arrangements,” he added.

Leung is not alone in expecting demand and rates to remain strong in the coming months.

Bruce Chan, Vice President – Global Logistics, at investment bank Stifel, said in the Baltic Exchange monthly summary that there were signs that the seasonal ramp toward the fourth quarter holiday peak was already underway in the U.S., while inventory-to-sales ratios were still near record lows.

“Anecdotally, one large retailer said that even if it shut down all of its stores and just focused on replenishing inventory backlogs, it would still take months before things were back to normal,” Chan said . “So, shippers are fighting to play catch up in addition to meeting robust new demand.”

Meanwhile, TAC Index’s Gareth Sinclair added that air freight demand levels would continue to outperform 2020 levels due to economies recovering, e-commerce thriving, and the sea freight industry suffering from capacity and operational challenges.

“Prices continue to be strong versus last year and pre-pandemic levels and this is expected to be the case for the foreseeable future as demand continues to outstrip supply,” he added.

How do you think we can improve similar articles in the future?

Please select a feedback option
Please leave a comment
Thank you for leaving your feedback