新冠疫情之后公路货运正在走向更加光明的未来

在东南亚,随着新举措的实施和即将到来的经济复苏,公路货运的市场份额有望大幅增长。
2021 年 8月 18 日 •

根据敦豪新发布的一份白皮书,新的贸易举措、电子商务需求激增、新冠疫情后经济有望反弹和其他货运模式的波动,正在为东南亚国家联盟(东盟)地区跨境卡车运输和多式联运解决方案创造理想的条件。

东盟经济共同体(AEC)的成员国长期以来一直敦促海关官员加强一体化和连通性,以方便各公司在该地区扩大其业务。他们所做的努力正在为国际公路货运解决方案开辟新的贸易路线和机会。

“亚洲大部分地区是通过陆地接壤。卡车运输服务对于那些正在发展供应链以满足新冠疫情后物流需求的客户来说,是一项经济实惠、高效的解决方案,”敦豪全球货运东南亚地区首席执行官Thomas Tieber表示。

正如白皮书中所强调的,全球航运能力和设备稀缺,以及高昂的空运成本,进一步提高了卡车运输方案的吸引力,因为卡车运输不但安全,而且能够为托运人提供端到端的货物可见性。

“各国政府也一直采取措施改善边境基础设施,调整海关规定和文件。随着这些瓶颈的消除,与空运或海运相比,依赖卡车跨境自由出入的公路和多式联运解决方案可能成为首选的货运方式,” Tieber说。

利用技术在提高公路货运效率方面也发挥着关键的作用。支撑敦豪在这一领域的技术支柱的是myDHLi 数字门户网站。通过这个网站,客户可以快速查看即时和有竞争力的报价、预订情况和货物跟踪信息。此外,客户还可以监测排放量和货物的可视性,并分析物流支出、货运量、海关活动和服务质量。

对于包括敦豪在内的公路货运提供商来说,将卡车运输专业知识与技术使用相结合,同时掌握最新的贸易法规和市场趋势,对于他们在该地区取得成功至关重要。

 

推动无缝的跨境贸易

过去一年,公路货运行业所取得的最重要的一项发展就是实施了东盟海关过境系统(ACTS)--这是一种计算机化的海关过境管理系统,允许持有营业执照的经营者使用单一文件跨境运输货物,而无需对进出该国的货物支付关税和税款。

东盟海关过境系统于2020年在柬埔寨、老挝、马来西亚、新加坡、泰国和越南推出,其设计符合东盟的目标,即从2017年起在三年内将贸易交易成本降低10%,并在2017年至2025年期间将东盟内部的贸易量增加一倍。

敦豪全球货运东南亚地区公路货运和多式联运主管Bruno Selmoni表示,“东盟海关过境系统将会随着时间的推移降低成本,同时通过协调针对不同成员国强制实施的跨境监管程序和标准,提高东盟地区公路货运的效率和可靠性。

商业用户可以通过东盟海关过境系统直接向东盟海关当局提交电子过境申报单,并跟踪货物从出发地装货到最终目的地的运输情况。由于经营者不再需要在每个边境进行报关,东盟海关过境系统将省去行政手续并节省成本,同时开辟新的、更具竞争力的区域内贸易通道。

对于寻求在新冠疫情后重新配置供应链的公司来说,东盟海关过境系统的推出正是时候。Selmoni说:“那些希望从中国实现生产多样化以降低风险并提高供应链灵活性的企业,现在有了完善的公路物流网络,可帮助他们在东南亚建立区域供应链。”

其他举措也一直在推进区域内贸易的发展。

例如,大湄公河次区域(GMS) 跨境运输便利化协议(CBTA)允许柬埔寨、中国、老挝、缅甸、泰国和越南六个成员国针对在该国登记、持有及或/经营的货运车辆和乘用车辆签发高达500份 GMS 公路货运许可证和临时准入证(TAD)。根据2015年签订的协议,临时准入证将允许每台车辆在该国停留30天。

与此同,自2010年生效以来,中国-东盟自由贸易区促进了东南亚与中国之间的贸易增长,而15个成员国签订的《区域全面经济伙伴关系协定》(RCEP)有望改善市场准入并促进在约占全球GDP三分之一的东盟共同体的投资。

所有这些协议和举措都将促进经济增长和贸易,正如东盟国家所愿,希望从新冠疫情封锁中复苏。

 

经济复苏为物流带来福音

研究机构-运输情报顾问公司(Ti)表示,交易量激增和经济活动复苏将带来相应的物流和公路货运增长和需求。

该顾问公司预计,从2020年到2025年,亚太区实际的合同物流需求增长将为7.6%,今年整个地区的需求预计增长8.2%。

{%ALT_TEXT%}

随着贸易复苏,东盟国家的经济恢复增长将引发跨境公路货运需求的增长。(图片:Shutterstock公司)

在中美贸易战和政府大力支持等因素的驱动下,该地区快速发展的新兴市场如印尼和越南,制造业越来越强大,从长远来看,这将有可能推动需求增长。

与此同时,电子支付技术公司PPRO新发布的一份报告预测称,2021年东南亚电子商务将增长5.5%,明年,新加坡、马来西亚、印度尼西亚、菲律宾和越南在东南亚地区的市场增长将名列前茅。

特别是企业对企业(B2B)销售,预计到2027年,线上交易量将激增70%,达到20.9万亿美元(17.6万亿欧元),这将保持未来几年对公路货运解决方案的强劲需求。

Tieber表示:“随着新冠疫情后经济的强劲复苏,电子商务消费支出不断上涨和贸易限制缩减,东南亚地区跨境卡车运输的未来充满希望。”

“我们将继续推出与客户合作开发的该地区领先的公路和多式联运解决方案,因为我们在全力以赴地为未来十年没有疫情(但愿如此)影响的商贸业务做准备。”

Road freight en route to brighter future beyond Covid-19

In Southeast Asia, the market share of road freight transportation is expected to grow substantially with new initiatives and an imminent economic recovery.
18 August 2021 •

New trade initiatives, surging e-commerce demand, an expected post-Covid economic rebound and the volatility of other freight modes are creating ideal conditions for cross-border trucking and intermodal forwarding solutions across the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) region, according to a new DHL whitepaper.

Member states in the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) have long urged customs officials to increase integration and connectivity to facilitate companies seeking to expand their operations across the region. These efforts are now opening up new trade routes and opportunities for international road freight solutions.

“Most of Asia is connected by land. Trucking services make sense as a cost-effective and efficient option for customers who are evolving supply chains to meet the needs of the post-Covid-19 logistics landscape,” said Thomas Tieber, CEO, Southeast Asia, DHL Global Forwarding.

As the white paper highlights, the global scarcity of shipping capacity and equipment, and the prohibitive cost of air freight, have further enhanced the attractiveness of secure, truck-based solutions offering end-to-end cargo visibility to shippers.

“Governments have also been taking steps to improve border infrastructure, aligning customs rules and documentation. With these bottlenecks removed, road and multimodal solutions relying on the free movement of trucks across borders may become the preferred freight mode when compared against air or ocean freight,” said Tieber.

Leveraging technology is also playing a key role in enabling efficiencies in road freight. Underpinning DHL’s technological backbone in this area is the myDHLi digital portal, which offers rapid access to instant and competitive quotes, bookings and tracking of shipments. It also enables customers to monitor emissions and shipment visibility, and analyze logistics spend, volumes, customs activity and service quality.

For road freight providers including DHL, combining their trucking expertise with the use of technology, and the knowledge of the latest trade regulations and market trends, will be imperative for success in the region.

Powering seamless cross-border trade

One of the most significant developments for the road freight sector over the past year has been the implementation of the ASEAN Customs Transit System (ACTS) — a computerized customs transit management system that allows licensed operators to move goods across borders using a single document, without having to pay duties and taxes on goods entering or leaving the country.

Launched in Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam in 2020, the ACTS was designed in line with ASEAN’s goals of reducing trade transaction costs by 10 percent in three years from 2017, and doubling intra-ASEAN trade between 2017 and 2025.

“ACTS will also lower costs over time, while enhancing efficiency and reliability for road freight movements in the ASEAN region by harmonizing the cross-border regulatory processes and standards imposed across different member economies,” said Bruno Selmoni, Head of Road Freight & Multimodal, Southeast Asia, DHL Global Forwarding.

Business users can lodge e-transit declarations directly with ASEAN Customs authorities via ACTS, and track the movement of cargo from loading at departure to its final destination. As operators no longer need to make a Customs declaration at every border, the ACTS will generate administrative and cost savings, while opening up new and more competitive intra-regional trade lanes.

For companies seeking to reconfigure post-Covid supply chains, the launch of ACTS comes at an opportune time. “Manufacturers looking to diversify production out of China to reduce risk and increase supply chain resilience now have an improved road-based logistics network to tap into when setting up regional supply chains in Southeast Asia,” said Selmoni.

Other initiatives have also been moving the needle on intra-regional trade.

For instance, the Greater Mekong Sub-region (GMS) Cross-Border Transport Facilitation Agreement (CBTA) allows each of the six member countries — Cambodia, China, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand, and Vietnam — to issue up to 500 GMS Road Transport Permits and Temporary Admission Documents (TADs) for goods and passenger vehicles registered, owned and/or operated in that country. Under the agreement ratified in 2015, the documents will allow each vehicle to remain in the country for a 30-day time limit.

Meanwhile, the ASEAN-China Free Trade Area has increased trade between the Southeast Asia and China since coming into force in 2010, and the 15-member Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) is expected to improve market access and facilitate investments across the bloc that represents about a third of the global GDP.

All these agreements and initiatives are set to bolster economic growth and trade just as ASEAN countries look to bounce back from Covid-19 lockdowns.

Economic recovery a boon for logistics

According to research agency Transport Intelligence (Ti), the spike in trade volumes and rebounding economic activity will translate into corresponding growth and demand for logistics and road transport.

The consultancy expects real Asia Pacific contract logistics demand growth from 2020 to 2025 to increase by 7.6 percent, with demand across the entire region forecast to expand by 8.2 percent this year.

Renewed economic growth in ASEAN countries will give rise to demand for cross-border road transportation as trade recovers.
Renewed economic growth in ASEAN countries will give rise to demand for cross-border road transportation as trade recovers. (Photo: Shutterstock)

Driven by factors such as the U.S.-China trade war and strong government support, fast-growing emerging markets in the region such as Indonesia and Vietnam have increasingly significant manufacturing sectors that would likely propel demand in the longer term.

A new report by payments company PPRO, meanwhile, predicts Southeast Asia will see e-commerce grow by 5.5 percent in 2021, with Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, the Philippines, and Vietnam leading the charge in terms of market growth in Southeast Asia over the coming year.

Specifically for business-to-business sales, online transactions are expected to surge 70 percent to reach US$20.9 trillion (€17.6 trillion) by 2027, which will sustain strong demand for road freight solutions in the years to come.

“With rising e-commerce consumer spending and lower trade restrictions amid a robust post-Covid economic recovery, the future of cross-border trucking in Southeast Asia is promising,” said Tieber.

“We will continue to roll out the region’s leading road and multimodal solutions developed in partnership with our customers, as we all prepare for the next decade of, hopefully, pandemic-free business and trade.”

How do you think we can improve similar articles in the future?

Please select a feedback option
Please leave a comment
Thank you for leaving your feedback