MORE FROM THIS COLLECTION

电动汽车的未来不止于车辆本身

基础设施、激励措施和熟练劳动力对于长期使用电动汽车至关重要。
2022 年 7月 22 日 •

电动汽车(简称“EV”)在实现未来零碳目标的过程中发挥着关键作用。然而,虽然去年电动汽车全球销量翻了一番,但仅增加电动汽车的数量还是不够的。

为了平稳地过渡到电动汽车,各国政府需要考察电动汽车的缺点并结合本国需求设计不同的解决方案。其中需要考虑的因素包括汽车行程的平均长度(包括距离和时间)、车桩比以及维护汽车和充电站的专业技术的可及性。

作为一个小型海岛城市,新加坡的公路网络紧凑,通勤距离较短(平均每天55公里),而一辆电动汽车充满电后平均能跑250公里,完全能满足日常需求。这些因素再结合发达的基础设施和有力的政府支持,可以解释为什么2022年前五个月内电动汽车能占新加坡所有新注册汽车的8.4%,这个比例比2021年全年的两倍还多。

然而,新加坡的优势是独一无二的,因为它是一个现代化的小国。其他国家就没有这么好的运气了。国际能源署《2022年全球电动汽车展望》强调,2021年,很多国家面临车桩比不断上升的局面,其中存量电动汽车的增长速度超过了充电基础设施的部署速度。

那么,各国怎样才能克服基础设施的挑战,最终创建一个可持续的电动汽车生态系统呢?

各国对充电基础设施有不同需求

顺利推广电动汽车的关键在于电动汽车与充电桩的比例。然而,每个国家根据住房存量、平均行驶距离和人口密度等因素设定了不同的目标比例。

As EV adoption picks up speed, global demand for public EV chargers is rising.

随着电动汽车越来越普及,全球公共电动汽车充电桩需求不断增长。

欧洲和美国城市的住宅充电比例较高,因此对公共充电设施的依赖程度较低。但即便如此,这些城市的比例仍低于政府设定的目标。挪威2021年平均车桩比达到了29,但仍然远低于欧盟《替代燃料基础设施指令》(AFID)向欧洲国家推荐的每10辆电动汽车配套1个充电桩的理想水平。

同样,美国现有电动汽车的数量超过了公共充电桩的数量,2021年车桩比约为18,是推荐比例(每6辆电动汽车配套1个充电桩)的三倍。

随着电动汽车采用率的提高,对公共充电解决方案的依赖程度也不断升高。各国政府如果要想进一步推广电动汽车,就必须开始提供更多充电方案。

充电基础设施的定制解决方案

政府政策

解决充电基础设施匮乏问题的一种方法是发展强大的公共充电网络。因为城市人口密度高,需求大,中国拥有全世界数量最多的公共充电桩,快充桩占世界总量的85%、慢充桩占55%。

此外还可以利用法规创造一个更有利于推广电动汽车的环境。在新加坡,电动汽车充电方面的法案规定,带停车场的所有新建筑物都必须按全部汽车和摩托车停车位至少1%的比例设置电动汽车充电桩。

这些法律也适用于总楼面面积增加50%或以上,或者将核准电气负载增加到280千伏安(kVa)或以上的新建开发区。充电点还必须提供足够的电气载荷,支持在15%的车位上通过7.4千瓦(kW)快充桩对电动汽车进行充电。

公司

除了政府行动和政策,各公司也应顺应电动汽车发展趋势,做出自己的贡献。

“我们正在朝着2050年实现净零排放的目标努力,把重点放在清洁运营上。作为快运物流领域的行业领导者,我们有责任引导并影响业界减少物流中的碳足迹,”DHL Express亚太区首席执行官Ken Lee说道。

与新加坡实现陆路运输绿色化的规划一致,DHL Express新加坡公司最近宣布与ComfortDelGro公司合作,为其新加坡车队增加80辆电动汽车。

建设高效充电网络

在物流领域,DHL Express新加坡公司将在所有服务中心设置105个充电点,以满足商用电动汽车车队的需求。服务中心的智能充电点将提供日常充电服务并配备特殊功能,例如防电动汽车私用监测系统和电动汽车车型或牌照识别系统,从而优化充电流程。

国际组织

从内燃机汽车(ICEV)向电动汽车过渡是应对气候变化的一个关键解决方案,但目前并非全世界都能做到。电动汽车的采用代价不菲。可能需要升级城市电气系统才能为电动汽车提供更多充电桩或更快速充电。村镇也需要加大道路和公共交通系统建设力度才能考虑供电问题。

正因如此,国际组织开始为这个方面进展较慢的发展中国家提供帮助。例如,柬埔寨正在接受联合国开发计划署的资助,该国的第一个充电站于今年3月在公共工程和运输部建成。

Cambodia's second public EV charger was recently opened at a Caltex gas station in April 2022.

2022年4月,柬埔寨的第二个公共电动汽车充电桩在一个Caltex加油站启用。

恶劣的交通状况和薄弱的基础设施导致该国在推广电动汽车的早期远远落后他国。2022年前三个月,柬埔寨仅有47辆电动汽车注册,与该国已注册的92万辆汽车和520万辆摩托车相比微不足道。

在联合国的帮助下,柬埔寨最近宣布在金边设立了第一个公共电动汽车充电桩,而且计划将来建设一批公共充电站。虽然柬埔寨能否维持新建基础设施仍有待观察,但联合国的资助至少让柬埔寨能够满足目前的充电基础设施需求。

充电时间过长和里程焦虑

随着电动汽车采用率的提高,对公共充电解决方案的依赖程度也不断升高。各国政府如果想要进一步推广电动汽车,就必须开始提供更多充电方案。

但除了增加充电站的数量之外,充电时间过长、气温较低时电池性能不佳、续航里程较短等其他因素也阻碍着电动汽车的采用。

加满燃油汽车的油箱只需要五分钟,而用世界上充电速度最快的充电桩充15分钟的电才能行驶320公里。这个问题在低温天气更为普遍,因为低温会降低电池性能和减小电动汽车续航里程,削减幅度可高达20%

大多数电动汽车250公里的平均续航里程对于小国而言已经足够,但对于通勤距离较长、充电点间隔较大的大国而言是不够的。人口密集、交通堵塞严重的城市对此产生了焦虑。在曼谷,如果遇上塞车,人均每年通勤时间可达90小时以上,消费者担心电动汽车的电量不足以支撑他们抵达目的地。

According to the South-Eastern Asia Traffic index 2022, Bangkok came in fourth, as the city with the worst traffic conditions in Southeast Asia.2022年东南亚交通指数显示,在东南亚交通状况最糟糕的城市当中,曼谷排名第四。

至少50%的泰国购车者认为,充电站的覆盖率必须达到加油站的80%或以上,电动汽车才能成为他们切实可行的选择。

为了解决里程焦虑,泰国政府将在电动汽车发展规划的第一阶段专门开发基础设施。截至2022年6月,泰国政府估计全国已安装了约900个公共快充桩,预计到2025年将安装4,400个充电桩,到2035年将安装36,500个充电桩。

解决这些难题将是大幅提高电动汽车采用率的关键,因为连通性和通勤距离是影响消费者转用电动汽车的关键因素。因此,公共充电站必须设置在重要地点而且相隔适当的距离,才能为用户提供充分的充电支持。

长期维持电动汽车生态系统

电动汽车数量激增,随之而来的问题是各国长期该怎样维护电动汽车基础设施,其中包括车辆维修需求和相关的燃料补给基础设施。

然而,电动汽车维护仍然是一个小众职业,发展速度完全跟不上电动汽车需求的快速增长,而目前并没有很多国家的政府出台措施来应对人力短缺问题。

By training a pool of skilled EV technicians, countries can stay ahead of the curve and ensure the maintenance of their EVs and charging infrastructure.通过培训一批熟练的电动汽车技术人员,各国就能保持领先优势,并保证电动汽车和充电基础设施得到维护。

亚洲最早仅有少数国家开始与各组织积极合作扩大电动汽车维护熟练工储备,新加坡是其中之一。该国最近宣布,陆路交通管理局(LTA)将与各组织合作,培训并认证电动汽车维护和维修安全相关领域的汽车技术人员,从而解决电动汽车技术人员短缺的潜在问题。

随着各国开始发展清洁能源交通系统,各国政府需要从战略上考虑可能遇到的障碍。保证稳步培养合格专业人员是支持这一转变的关键。

平稳实现净零排放

要向零碳排放交通转变,还需要做很多工作,但电动汽车有达到临界数量的迹象。

“如果改用电动汽车,DHL Express新加坡公司每年能减少323吨二氧化碳排放,而这对我们来说只是开始,”DHL Express新加坡公司董事总经理Christopher Ong说道。

电动汽车在需求推动下形成规模效应,也开始在价格上与内燃机汽车看齐。这对农业国家和发展中国家来说是一个好消息,因为电动汽车的价格将更加亲民。

然而,面对电动汽车市场的增长,各国必须首先建立起与之匹配的强大、稳定的电动汽车基础设施。除采用电动汽车外,各国 应当做好未来规划,建设并维持一个可持续的电动汽车生态系统。

The future of EVs goes beyond vehicles

Infrastructure, incentives and skilled manpower are vital to long-term adoption.
22 July 2022 •

Electric vehicles, or EVs, play a key role in any zero-carbon future. But, while global sales for EVs doubled last year, increasing the number of vehicles in itself won’t be enough.

To smoothly transition to EVs, governments need to examine the drawbacks of EVs and design different solutions specific to their country’s needs. This includes factors such as the average length of car journeys (in both miles and hours), the ratio of chargers to vehicles, and the availability of expertise in maintaining the vehicles and stations. 

As a small island city, Singapore’s compact road network and short commuter distances, which average at 55km per day, are well within the limits of an EV’s average 250km range on a full charge. These factors, coupled with a developed infrastructure and strong government support, help explain why EVs made up 8.4 percent of all new car registrations in Singapore for the first five months of 2022, more than twice the rate in all of 2021.

But Singapore’s advantage is unique, in that it is modern and small. Other countries are not faring so well. IEA’s Global EV Outlook 2022 highlighted that 2021 saw many countries facing a growing EV-per-charger ratio, with the speed of EV stock growth outpacing the deployment of charging infrastructure. 

So how can countries overcome infrastructural challenges to create a sustainable EV ecosystem in the long run? 

Different countries have different needs for charging infrastructure 

The key to successful EV adoption lies in the ratio of EV cars per charger. However, each country has different target ratios set, depending on factors such as housing stock, the average distance traveled, and population density. 

As EV adoption picks up speed, global demand for public EV chargers is rising.
As EV adoption picks up speed, global demand for public EV chargers is rising.

Cities in Europe and the U.S. have high shares of residential charging, and hence rely less on public charging. But even so, their ratios are behind government targets. Far from the ideal pace of 10 EVs per charger recommended by the European Union’s Alternative Fuel Infrastructure Directive (AFID) for European countries, Norway hit an average of 29 EVs per charging point in 2021. 

Similarly, the number of EVs on U.S. roads outpaced the number of public charging points, with about 18 EVs per charging point in 2021, three times more than the recommended ratio of six EVs per charging point. 

As EV adoption grows, the reliance on public charging solutions is increasing. For countries to move forward with the expansion of EV adoption, governments need to start providing a wider range of charging options. 

Tailored solutions for charging infrastructure 

Government policies 

One approach to address the lack of charging infrastructure is for countries to grow a strong network of public charging points. Corresponding with the demands of its densely populated urban landscape, China has the greatest number of public chargers available, accounting for 85 percent of the world’s fast chargers and 55 percent of slow chargers. 

Regulations also help by creating an environment that is more conducive to EV adoption. In Singapore, under proposed laws to regulate EV charging, all new buildings with carparks are required to install EV charging points in at least one percent of their total car and motorcycle parking lots. 

The same laws apply for developments that increase their gross floor area by 50 percent or more, or increase their approved electrical load to 280 kilovolt-ampere (kVa) or more. The charging points will also have to provide sufficient electrical load to support EV charging with 7.4 kilowatt (kW) fast chargers for 15 percent of the total parking spaces.  

Companies 

Beyond government campaigns and policies, companies can also play their part in adapting to the EV trend. 

“We are on a journey towards achieving net-zero emissions by 2050 with a focus on clean operations. As a leader in express logistics, we have a responsibility to guide and influence the industry to reduce carbon footprint across logistics operations,” said Ken Lee, CEO, DHL Express Asia Pacific.  

Aligned with Singapore’s plans to green its land transport, DHL Express Singapore recently announced the addition of 80 electric vehicles (EVs) to its Singapore fleet, in partnership with ComfortDelGro.

Building an efficient charging network

On the logistics front, DHL Express Singapore will install 105 charging points across its service centers to match its commercial EV fleet. Smart charging points at the service centers will provide daily charging with special functions, such as an anti-EV-hogging monitoring system, and an EV model or license plate recognition system, to optimize the charging process.

International Organizations 

The transition from Internal Combustion Engine Vehicles (ICEVs) to EVs is a critical solution to climate change. However, it is, at present, not a universal one. The adoption of EVs is an expensive undertaking. Upgrades to a city’s electrical systems may be necessary to power more or faster EV chargers. Rural cities also require further development to their roads and public transport systems before electrification can be considered.

Which is why international organizations are stepping in to help developing nations, where progress is slower. Cambodia, for instance, is receiving funding support from the United Nations Development Program, which built the country’s first charging station at the Ministry of Public Works and Transport in March. 

Cambodia's second public EV charger was recently opened at a Caltex gas station in April 2022.
Cambodia's second public EV charger was recently opened at a Caltex gas station in April 2022.

The nation’s poor traffic conditions and weak infrastructure have caused the nation to be left behind in the early phases of the EV adoption race. Its EV scene, which saw 47 electric vehicles registered in the first three months of 2022, is nascent in comparison to the 920,000 registered cars and 5.2 million motorbikes on its roads. 

With help from the UN, Cambodia recently announced the opening of its first public EV charger in Phnom Penh, with plans to roll out a handful of public charging stations in the future. While it remains to be seen whether Cambodia will be able to maintain its newly built infrastructure, the UN’s financial support has at least allowed Cambodia to meet its current charging infrastructure needs. 

Slow charging times and range anxiety 

As EV adoption grows, so does the reliance on public charging solutions. For countries to move forward with the expansion of EV adoption, governments need to start providing a wider range of charging options. 

But apart from the increasing the number of charging stations, other factors such as slow charging times, poor battery performance in colder climates and the shorter range of EVs are deterrents to EV adoption. 

Compared to the five minutes it takes to fill up a gas tank, the fastest chargers in the world require 15 minutes to add 320 kilometers of range. This problem is even more pervasive in colder climates which could reduce battery performance and EV range by up to 20 percent.

The average charging range of 250km for most EVs is enough for small countries, but not for big ones with longer commutes and greater distances between charging points. Densely populated cities with heavy traffic congestions create anxieties of its own. In Bangkok, where commuters spend over 90 hours a year in traffic jams, consumers fear that EVs have insufficient power to reach their destinations.

According to the South-Eastern Asia Traffic index 2022, Bangkok came in fourth, as the city with the worst traffic conditions in Southeast Asia.
According to the South-Eastern Asia Traffic index 2022, Bangkok came in fourth, as the city with the worst traffic conditions in Southeast Asia.

At least 50 percent of Thai buyers think that 80 percent or more charging station coverage is needed in comparison to gas stations to make EVs feasible for them.

To tackle the issue of range anxiety, the Thai government has dedicated the first phase of its EV plan to infrastructure development. As of June 2022, the Thai government estimates that about 900 public fast chargers have been installed throughout the country, with forecasts expecting the rise to 4,400 by 2025, and 36,500 by 2035.

Overcoming these challenges will be key to gaining critical mass in EV adoption as connectivity and commuter distance are crucial factors affecting the consumer decisions to transition to EVs. Hence, public charging stations need to be placed in key locations and distances apart to provide sufficient charging support for users.   

Maintaining the EV ecosystem in the long run

With the proliferation of EVs comes questions on how countries are supposed to maintain their EV infrastructure in the long term. This includes the vehicles’ servicing needs and the associated fueling infrastructure.

EV maintenance, however, is still a niche occupation, growing too slowly to match the rapid rise in demand for EVs, and at present, not many governments have pushed out measures to tackle the manpower shortage.

By training a pool of skilled EV technicians, countries can stay ahead of the curve and ensure the maintenance of their EVs and charging infrastructure.
By training a pool of skilled EV technicians, countries can stay ahead of the curve and ensure the maintenance of their EVs and charging infrastructure.

Singapore is one of the first few countries in Asia to start actively working with organizations to increase its pool of skilled EV-maintenance labor. The nation recently announced that its Land Transport Authority (LTA) would be working with organizations to train and certify automotive technicians in safety-related areas of EV maintenance and servicing, to tackle the potential shortage of EV technicians.

As countries progress towards cleaner energy transport systems, governments need to think strategically about the roadblocks ahead. And ensuring a steady pipeline of qualified professionals is an essential step to supporting the transition.

Coasting towards net-zero emissions in the last mile

For the shift to zero-carbon emissions transportation, a lot still needs to happen, but there are signs of EVs reaching critical mass. 

“By transitioning to electric vehicles, DHL Express Singapore is set to eliminate a total of 323 tons of CO2 emissions yearly, and this is just the beginning for us,” said Christopher Ong, Managing Director, DHL Express Singapore.

EVs, through economies of scale due to demand, is also starting to match ICE vehicle prices. This bodes well for rural and developing nations, for whom EVs will become a lot more affordable.

But first, nations will need to match the growth of their EV markets with a robust and stable EV infrastructure. Beyond engaging with EVs, countries should work toward planning ahead for the future to build and maintain a sustainable EV ecosystem.

How do you think we can improve similar articles in the future?

Please select a feedback option
Please leave a comment
Thank you for leaving your feedback