ALSO WORTH READING

随着新的船舶订单的增加,旺季需求使海运费继续上涨

随着海运进入旺季,高需求促使集装箱运输公司订购新的船舶,但预计在短期内不会缓解延误或降低运费。
2021 年 8月 11 日 •

集装箱运输旺季现在正在临近,但是集装箱供应链仍处于混乱状态。船期的可靠性仍然是阻碍有效规划的主要因素。

运费仍在上涨,而港口拥堵和码头延误仍在持续损害运营效率。对于集装箱箱位的买家来说,寻找舱位和设备仍然是一个主要挑战——许多托运人正试图通过投入更多的资金来解决这个问题。

这些趋势可以追溯到集装箱运输服务所承受的结构性压力,在新冠疫情造成混乱一年后来自于关键市场的需求也在增加。但是接二连三的短期冲击也削弱了力图使全球船期恢复正常所做的努力。

今年,货运行业也遭受了船上集装箱掉入水中导致的集装箱损失、苏伊士运河堵塞和中国南部城市深圳盐田爆发新冠疫情造成的港口生产力损失。7月底,因中国台风肆虐和越南封锁政策导致亚洲港口陷入进一步混乱,引起更多的服务中断。

线上货运平台Freightos公司的研究主管Judah Levine在一份周报中表示:“最近这些干扰以及持续的高需求继续对海运费带来巨大的压力,使海运费极速上涨或攀升,同时运输公司也宣布即将对亚洲以外的航线大幅收取附加费。”

他补充说:“亚洲至北欧的运费比一年前高了8倍多,而且,自今年年初以来,因集装箱紧缺、港口堵塞和需求不断增长等因素,已经上涨了近2.5倍。”

短期冲击和新冠疫情导致的供应链失衡意味着,虽然航运公司有能力提高标称的运力,但是由于延误,实际增加的运力微不足道。投入更多的船舶往往只是加剧了港口堵塞的现象。

 

为旺季做准备

在需求方面,几乎没有喘息的机会。目前零售商提醒说,他们将全面提高圣诞节消费品的价格,许多人表示航运成本的上涨和发货延迟是导致通货膨胀的主要因素。

受到可能出现货物短缺的威胁,许多人也会过度订购,因为他们预计一些箱子可能会晚到。这在美国尤其如此,码头和货运站延误已经蔓延到内陆,而现在多式联运设施是导致重大交货延误的原因。

{%ALT_TEXT%}

由于港口员工中爆发新冠疫情,中国南部港口盐田港于5月底暂时关闭。(图片:Shutterstock公司)

例如,玩具制造商孩之宝公司提醒称,第三季度价格上涨的部分原因是航运成本比去年翻了两番。该公司在一次盈收电话会议上告诉分析师,他们正在通过使用更多的承运人,并在中国以外采购更多的产品,包括从印度和越南采购,来应对航运危机,以帮助降低供应链风险。

敦豪全球货运海运业务主管Dominique von Orelli表示:“并非只有玩具制造商正在试图降低生产及海运航线和解决方案的风险。我们看到许多托运人正在下大量的订单,以确保在节假日季节之前补足库存。他们与那些和承运人建立了长期合作关系并签订了重大运力协议的合作伙伴合作,这种情况从未如此清晰。”

由于集装箱运费如此之高,美国和欧洲的监管机构已加强了对该行业的监控,尤其在美国,总统乔·拜登下令联邦海事委员会对承运人收取逾期使用费和滞留费进行审查。

航运分析公司MSI的高级分析师Daniel Richards指出:“拜登针对反竞争行为的行政命令不太可能为如火如荼的海运市场带来实质性的降温。北欧港口拥堵带来的影响已经恶化,陆侧和泊位的拥堵已经导致班轮暂时停留在安特卫普。

“随着来自盐田港口延迟的货物开始缓慢进入已经很紧张的贸易航线(这些航线很快会被旺季货物所淹没),预计将会出现进一步的强劲推动力。2021年第3季度很可能出现市场旺季,但同样,现货运费也有可能继续攀升。”

 

新订单纷至沓来

由于运费和包租费达到创记录新高,许多业内经营者现金充裕,资金源源不断地流向亚洲的船厂,随之而来的是迅猛增长的新的集装箱船订单。

敦豪最新的海运市场更新报告显示,今年上半年,海运公司、非运营船东、投资银行和出租公司已经在中国、韩国和日本的船厂签署了300多份船舶订单。

这些新船舶的组合箱位运力将为288万吨标准箱,或是现今总体集装箱船队运力2,447万吨标准箱的11.7%。整体订单与船队比已经翻了一倍多,从一年前的9.4%,上升到了上半年结束时的19.9%。

然而,这种影响不会立竿见影。敦豪全球货运亚太区首席执行官Kelvin Leung说:“现在订购的所有船舶要到2023年或2024年才会交付,几乎整个船队已经部署完毕,很难相信集装箱运输供应会很快得到改善。”

Leung表示,“欧洲和美国的采购经理人指数仍然非常乐观,新订单依旧强劲。我想这将意味着在2021年剩余的大部分时间里,无论是从局部还是从全球看,我们都将面临海运困难。”

随着时间的推移,这些投资将有助于解决运力不足问题。然而,在短期内,经营者拼命想要在旺季获利,以至于二手集装箱船的价格和包租市场过热。

Richards说:“承运人果断抢购任何公开的吨位——即使是在短期内以高昂的价格获得——这表明,支撑当前市场动态的推动力不太可能在短期内放松。”

Peak season demand keeps ocean freight rates elevated as new vessel orders rise

As ocean freight enters its peak season, high demand is pushing container lines to order new vessels though it is not expected to ease delays or lower rates in the short term.
11 August 2021 •

The peak container shipping season is now hitting its stride, but container supply chains remain in disarray, with schedule reliability still a major bar to effective planning.

Freight rates are still rising, while port congestion and terminal delays are an ongoing blight on operational efficiency. Finding space and equipment remains a major challenge for buyers of container slots — a challenge that many shippers are trying to solve by throwing yet more cash at the problem.

These trends can be traced to the structural pressure container shipping services are under after a year of Covid-19 disruptions that coincided with heightened demand from key markets. But a succession of short-term shocks has also undermined efforts to restore any semblance of normality to global liner schedules.

This year, the industry has already been hit by vessels suffering container losses overboard, the Suez Canal blockage, and port productivity losses in southern China caused by a Covid-19 outbreak at Yantian. In late July, more service interruptions followed as typhoons battered China and lockdowns in Vietnam caused further chaos at ports in Asia.

“These latest disruptions as well as sustained peak levels of demand continue to put tremendous pressure on ocean rates, keeping them extremely elevated or climbing, even as carriers announce significant upcoming surcharges on ex-Asia lanes,” said Judah Levine, Research Lead at online freight marketplace Freightos, in a weekly statement.

“Rates from Asia to North Europe are more than eight times higher than a year ago and have increased nearly two and half times since the start of the year on a combination of scarce containers, clogged ports and growing demand,” he added.

The combination of short-term shocks and Covid-linked supply chain imbalances means that where shipping lines have been able to increase nominal capacity, actual capacity increases are negligible due to delays. The injection of more vessels has often simply exacerbated port bottlenecks.

Preparing for peak season

On the demand side of the equation, there is also little respite. Retailers are now warning they will bump up Christmas prices for consumers across the board with many citing rising shipping costs and shipment delays as the chief inflationary factor.

Threatened by possible shortages, many are also over-ordering on the expectation that some boxes could arrive late. This is especially the case in the U.S. where delays at piers and in terminals have spread inland, with intermodal facilities now the cause of major delivery delays.

The Yantian port in Southern China was temporarily closed in late May due to a Covid-19 outbreak among the port’s staff.
The Yantian port in Southern China was temporarily closed in late May due to a Covid-19 outbreak among the port’s staff. (Photo: Shutterstock)

Toymaker Hasbro, for example, warned that third quarter price increases were in part due to shipping costs quadrupling over the last year. The company told analysts in an earnings call that it was navigating the shipping crisis by using a wider array of carriers and sourcing more products outside China, including from India and Vietnam, to help reduce its supply chain risk.

“Toymakers are not alone in attempting to limit their risk both in terms of production but also in terms of shipping routes and solutions,” said Dominique von Orelli, Global Head, Ocean Freight, DHL Global Forwarding. “We are seeing many shippers now placing heavy orders to build up inventories ahead of the holiday season. The case for working with partners with long-term relationships and significant capacity agreements with carriers has never been clearer.”

Such is the elevated nature of container freight rates that regulators in the U.S. and Europe have stepped up their monitoring of the sector, not least in the U.S. where the Federal Maritime Commission has been ordered to examine carrier detention and demurrage charges by President Joe Biden.

“The Biden executive order targeting anti-competitive practices is unlikely to materially cool red-hot ocean freight markets,” noted Daniel Richards, senior analyst at shipping analyst firm MSI. “The impacts of port congestion have worsened in Northern European ports, resulting in liners temporarily dropping calls at Antwerp amid landside and berth congestion.

“Further tailwinds are expected as delayed shipments from Yantian begin trickling into already stressed trade routes, which will soon be awash with peak season cargo. Q3 21 will likely prove the peak of the market, but equally it is certainly possible that spot freight rates could continue to climb higher.”

New orders flow in

With many in the industry awash with cash on the back of record freight and charter rates, money is flowing toward Asia’s shipyards which have seen a surge of new container ship orders.

Ocean carriers, non-operating owners, investment banks and lessors have signed well over 300 vessel orders at Chinese, Korean and Japanese yards in the first half of this year, according to DHL’s latest Ocean Freight Market Update.

These new ships will have a combined slot capacity of 2.88 million TEU, or 11.7 percent of today’s overall container fleet capacity of 24.47 million TEU. The overall orderbook to fleet ratio has more than doubled from 9.4 percent a year ago to 19.9 percent at the end of H1.

The impact, however, will not be felt immediately. “Any ships ordered now will not be delivered until 2023 or 2024, so with almost the entire fleet already deployed there is little scope to believe that container shipping supply will improve anytime soon,” said Kelvin Leung, CEO, DHL Global Forwarding Asia Pacific.

“PMI readings for Europe and the U.S. also remain very positive with new orders still strong. I expect this will mean that we’ll face ocean shipping crunches both locally and globally for much of the rest of 2021,” said Leung.

Over time, these investments will help address capacity shortages. In the short term, however, operators are so desperate to cash in during peak season that secondhand container vessel prices and charter markets are overheating.

“Carriers’ decisiveness in snapping up any tonnage that surfaces — even for short-term durations and at exorbitant rates — suggests the tailwinds underpinning current market dynamics are unlikely to unwind anytime soon,” said Richards.

How do you think we can improve similar articles in the future?

Please select a feedback option
Please leave a comment
Thank you for leaving your feedback