物流服务提供商是否为2021年的这个旺季做好了准备?

去年受新冠疫情的驱动,旺季来得早,而且增长迅猛。在下一个旺季到来之前,敦豪和Sendle快递公司分享了他们在新冠疫情期间经营电子商务的经验和教训。
Sendle Q&A
2021 年 10月 04 日 •

去年,澳大利亚物流公司Sendle连续9个月的包裹发货量相当于圣诞节旺季的发货量。发货量的激增绝不是偶然--事实上,这是新冠疫情期间对电子商务的有力认可。

这场危机加快了男女老少消费者购买行为的重大转变,他们接受了电子商务带来的安心和便利以及必要性。随着疫情之后电子商务需求的增长,各公司和物流服务提供商都必须做好准备,扩大经营服务范围你,提高其能力,以满足消费者更高的期望。

然而,遏制疫情在澳大利亚传播所采取的封锁和限制措施,使得提前预测需求更加困难,更不用说年底的旺季了,这进一步加剧了挑战。

公司应该有何期待,他们应该如何为今年的旺季做准备?物流服务提供商,如敦豪电子商务解决方案公司和Sendle公司,能从去年旺季的经验中吸取什么教训?

为了回答这些问题,Logistics of Things采访了敦豪电子商务解决方案澳大利亚公司的总裁Denise McGrouther和Sendle公司的首席执行官兼联合创始人James Chin Moody,以了解他们的公司在新冠疫情期间如何进行调整以适应形势,以及他们如何为2021年创造另一个破纪录的购物旺季做好充分准备。

 

这次新冠疫情加快了消费者和企业向电子商务的转变。在实际操作中,这对企业的运作方式和工作的具体细节意味着什么?

McGrouther: 自这次新冠疫情开始以来,我们看到全球对澳大利亚制造的产品的需求飙升。我们处理了创记录的货运量,这在2020年是无法想象的。这些货运量为我们的商品化产品带来了100%的增长,这需要对我们的现状进行全面改革。

这些创纪录的货运量,再加上对空运运力的严格限制和新的操作程序,意味着我们的团队必须非常敏捷并快速适应,以保障货物运输正常进行。

在新冠疫情期间,创纪录的需求和运输量需要与合适的合作伙伴建立一个更强健的交货系统。(图片:Sendle公司)

此需求激增也表明了透明度对客户的重要性。随着空运成本的上升和运输时间的暂时延误,我们与合作伙伴Sendle合作,提供频繁的信息更新,以管理和重新调整消费者的期望。这种方法加强了我们的合作关系,为成千上万的澳大利亚卖家提供经济实惠、可靠的国际运输服务。

Moody: 当澳大利亚在2020年3月首次进入封锁状态时,我们的包裹数量飙升,从4月到12月连续9个月发送的货物量达到了圣诞节的水平。

自2014年成立以来,Sendle公司的业务量年复一年地增长,但是我们从未经历过如此突然的迅猛增长。2020年,我们在澳大利亚的国内包裹数量急剧增长了103%。

尽管存在航班取消和持续的旅行限制,但是在这期间Sendle公司的国际包裹数量也增加了一倍多,这加强了我们与我们的国际物流服务提供商敦豪电子商务解决方案公司的合作关系。

我们很早就意识到,我们需要迅速扩大业务,以帮助支持我们的小企业客户并跟上需求。通过我们现有和新投资者提供的大量资金,我们已经能够扩大我们的团队规模,专注于在美国建立我们的快递网络,并加倍致力于我们在澳大利亚的100%碳中和包裹递送服务。

墨尔本对电子商务需求的预期增长将人们的目光吸引到上门取件服务上。

最近我们扩大了在墨尔本的国际上门取件服务,以满足小企业和副业经营者日益增长的需求。他们在新冠疫情期间通过Shopify、eBay和Etsy 等全球电商网站向海外消费者销售他们的产品。

 

公司采取了哪些措施来应对过去一年新冠疫情造成的封锁和各种规则的变化?

McGrouther: 我为我们团队的适应能力感到骄傲。无论从个人生活还是从工作上来说,过去18个月对每个人来说都极具挑战性。在敦豪,员工是我们成功的基础,保护他们的安全是最重要的。

通过敏捷的领导能力,我们的团队迅速实施了新的工作方法,比如分班工作,以确保社交距离,以及新的居家办公措施。我们还与供应商和合作伙伴密切合作,检查和更新安全措施,以保护我们的员工和客户。我们扩大了客服团队,定期向客户提供最新的信息,并向他们保证,尽管有限制措施,但是我们会继续为他们提供递送服务。

Moody: 我们推出了一系列新的安全措施以应对新冠病毒,包括非接触式收货和送货,以保护社区安全,并使小企业能够在家发货。我们的网络团队还在不断地与快递合作伙伴合作,通过遵守美国联邦和州卫生主管部门严格的安全规定,确保快递司机和客户的安全。

与运输和物流领域的许多经营者一样,Sendle也经历了因国际航班减少而造成国际包裹投递延误的情况。对此,我们立即增强了客户支持团队,引入了聊天机器人,为客户定期提供最新的国际航班预计到达时间的信息。

作为澳大利亚现有快递公司网络的数字骨干,我们的技术使我们能够利用他们的快递车辆中未充分利用的空间,装满包裹,以最大限度地提高每次递送的效率。在封锁期间,由于网上购物的增加,导致包裹数量激增时,我们能够迅速扩大经营规模,并与快递合作伙伴网络合作,以满足巨大的增长需求。

 

关于疫情对电子商务产生的影响,最让您感到惊讶的是什么?

McGrouther: 这次疫情引发了消费者购买行为的重大转变--随着居家令的实施,我们别无选择,只能在网上购物。随着消费者享受送货上门的安心和便利,这种快速转变已被大多数人所接受。先进的技术也将加速这种转变,使购物过程比以往任何时候都更加容易。从Sendle的客户身上,我们也看到消费者更有意识地购买中小企业(SME)的产品,支持当地社区,这是非常好的现象。

过去的18个月似乎也引发了人们生活方式的重大转变。去年,由于我们都呆在家里,所以运动休闲产品很受欢迎。尽管我们的一些关键航线如美国和英国的海外限制有所放松,但是运动休闲产品继续保持增长势头。澳大利亚的健康产品、厨具和宠物饰品的销量也在继续增长。

Moody: 我们被消费者行为改变如此之快所震惊。此次疫情导致了世界上有史以来最大的线上转变,随之而来就是全民网上购物的热潮。

这一转变最初给传统零售行业带来了震荡,但最终为那些已扩大在线服务或首次转向在线服务的小企业创造了新的机会。

在疫情的大环境下,更多的企业家转向电子商务领域。(图片:Sendle 公司)

在Sendle,我们看到了副业经营者人数激增--他们在主业之外还经营一份小生意—他们可以在几分钟内在iPhone或iPad上创建在线业务,这要归功于像FourSquare等电子商务平台和工具的使用便利性。

 

您从去年的旺季吸取了哪些物流教训?您认为今年会有什么不同?

McGrouther: 去年,在关键的出口航线上我们经历了各种挑战,许多国家都受到了第二波新冠疫情的影响。但是正如我之前所提到的,我们通过保持操作的灵活性,同时积极主动地与客户沟通,来保障货物运输的正常进行。

尽管疫情在持续,但是我们仍希望电子商务销售能迎来另一个破纪录的旺季。先买后付(BNPL)方案(通过这个方案,消费者先购买,随后分期付款)越来越受欢迎,这可能会进一步推动今年电子商务旺季的增长。

这种解决方案不仅会带来更多的国内和国际跨境贸易,而且也使网上购物成为消费者愉悦的体验过程。现在许多消费者更喜欢电子商务,而不是在实体零售店购物。我们相信这个假期旺季将再次证明电子商务是未来之路。

Moody: 在2020年的销售和发货旺季,我们意识到灵活性是关键。要在这些不确定的时期保持弹性运作,企业在操作中构建灵活性是至关重要的。

提前制定计划,尤其是针对旺季制定计划,是至关重要的。企业越早开始为这些繁忙的时间备货并做准备,当意外发生时他们就会越胸有成竹。这可能意味着要配备更多的员工帮助应对旺季期间的需求,确保你有充足的库存和预包装的产品。

随着悉尼和墨尔本再次进入长期封锁状态,我们发现我们的包裹数量再次增加。例如,与前几个月相比,悉尼的包裹数量从7月中旬到9月中旬增长了88%,而Sendle的墨尔本包裹数量在同期增长了46%。

我们预计,2021年10月至12月的圣诞节旺季将迎来另一个破纪录的包裹递送旺季。

 

如果您能为企业提供一个为这个旺季做准备的建议,那会是什么呢?

McGrouther: 保持透明将有助于企业应对旺季出现的大量货物查询问题。我们通过提前了解估计的交货时间,并鼓励消费者提前购物做到了这一点,这将有助于管理12月旺季期间出现的大量查询情况。

在繁忙时期到来之前,企业还应该重新评估优先市场和产品重点,为客户提供成本分层的货运方案,并将物流纳入他们的客户关系管理和客户参与的活动中。

Moody: 运输可以优化客户体验,同时也可能破坏客户体验,所以尽早做好准备很重要。根据Sendle的数据,我们预测包裹数量将像上一个旺季那样再次激增,所以我们向零售商和小企业传达的信息是现在就要组织起来,因为人们将从10月初就开始圣诞购物。如果你能负担得起的话,就雇佣一些临时工帮你打包。

公开而明确地公布你的发货日期。你可以通过直接给客户发电子邮件,或者将发货日期放在网站的一个显眼位置来进行。

锻炼耐心并善待送货司机,他们在新冠疫情期间异常忙碌,因为他们要递送创纪录的货物量。请保持耐心,对可能产生的延期送货现象表示理解,确保通过各种沟通渠道通知你的客户,并设定切合实际的预期交货时间。

有一点是肯定的,就是电子商务已被大多数人所接受。掌控趋势有助于企业与时俱进,但在旺季到来之前,企业的首要任务是确保其物流业务紧密地融入其工作方式中,并能够满足不同客户的运输需要。

敦豪电子商务解决方案澳大利亚公司是Sendle的跨境递送国际物流合作伙伴。

Are logistics providers ready for the 2021 peak season?

Last year’s pandemic-driven peak season arrived early and boomed on. Ahead of the next season, DHL and Sendle share their experiences and lessons from navigating e-commerce amid Covid-19.
Sendle Q&A
04 October 2021 •

For nine consecutive months last year, Australian logistics company Sendle shipped parcels equivalent to peak Christmas volumes. The surge in shipments was by no means a fluke — in fact, it was a ringing endorsement for e-commerce amid the pandemic.

The crisis accelerated a major shift in buying behavior among consumers young and old who have bought into the ease and convenience — and necessity — of e-commerce. With e-commerce demand set to grow beyond the pandemic, companies and logistics providers alike must be prepared to scale up and improve their capabilities to meet the consumers’ heightened expectations.

However, lockdowns and restrictions to curb the pandemic’s spread in Australia have compounded the challenge by making it tougher to predict demand ahead of time, much less during the year-end peak season.

What should companies expect and how should they prepare for this year’s peak season, and what lessons can logistics providers like DHL eCommerce Solutions and Sendle impart from last year’s peak season experience?

To answer these questions, Logistics of Things caught up with Denise McGrouther, Managing Director of DHL eCommerce Solutions Australia, and James Chin Moody, CEO and co-founder of Sendle, to find out how their companies have adapted during Covid-19, and how they are laying the groundwork to deliver yet another record-breaking shopping season in 2021.

The pandemic accelerated a shift to e-commerce for consumers and businesses. What has this meant, in practice, for how the business is run and for the nuts and bolts of work?

McGrouther: Since the beginning of this pandemic, we’ve seen global demand for Australian-made products soar. We handled record volumes that were previously unimaginable in 2020. These volumes led to 100 percent growth for our commercial product, which required a major overhaul to our status quo.

These record volumes, together with a severe restriction to air freight capacity and new operating procedures, meant our team had to be extremely agile and adapt quickly to keep freight moving.

Record demand and shipping volume during the pandemic required a more robust delivery system with the right partners. (Photo: Sendle)

This boom also made clear the importance of transparency to customers. With airfreight costs rising and temporary delays in transit times, we worked with our partner Sendle, providing frequent updates to manage and readjust consumers expectations. This approach strengthened our partnership, offering affordable, reliable international shipping to thousands of Australian sellers.

Moody: When Australia first went into lockdown in March 2020, our parcel volumes skyrocketed and we ended up delivering Christmas levels for nine months in a row from April to December.

Since launching in 2014, Sendle has experienced growth year after year but never before had we experienced such a sudden growth spurt. Our domestic parcel volumes increased by a whopping 103 percent in Australia in 2020.

Despite the cancellation of flights and ongoing travel restrictions, Sendle’s international parcel volumes also more than doubled during this period, which strengthened our partnership with DHL eCommerce Solutions as our international logistics provider.

We realized early on that we needed to rapidly expand the business to help support our small business customers and keep up with demand. With significant funding from our current and new investors, we have been able to increase our team size, focus on building our courier network in the United States, and double down on our 100 percent carbon-neutral parcel delivery service in Australia.

The expected growing demand for e-commerce in Melbourne puts the spotlight on door-to-door pick-up services.

We have recently expanded our international door-to-door pickup service in Melbourne in response to growing demand from small businesses and side hustlers who have been selling their products to overseas consumers during Covid-19 via global e-commerce sites like Shopify, eBay and Etsy.

What measures have the company introduced to adapt to the lockdowns and sudden changes in rules in the past year?

McGrouther: I am proud of the resilience of our team. The past 18 months have been extremely challenging for everyone, both professionally and personally.  At DHL, our people are the foundation of our success and safeguarding their safety is paramount.

Through agile leadership, our team was quick to implement new work practices, such as split shifts for operations, to ensure social distancing, and new work-from-home measures. We also worked closely with our vendors and partners, reviewing and updating safety practices to protect both employees and customers. We expanded our customer service team to keep customers regularly updated and to assure them that we continue to deliver despite restrictions.

Moody: We have introduced a raft of Covid-safe changes including contactless pick-up and delivery to keep the community protected and enabling small businesses to ship from home. Our Network Team is also continually working with our courier partners to ensure delivery drivers and our customers are kept safe by adhering to strict safety protocols of the Federal and State health authorities.

Like many operators in the shipping and logistics space, Sendle has experienced delays due to international parcel delivery being impacted by reduced overseas flights. We immediately responded by bolstering our customer support team, introducing chatbots, and keeping our customers regularly updated about international ETA’s.

As the digital backbone of a network of existing couriers in Australia, our technology has enabled us to tap the underutilized space in their delivery vehicles and fill them with parcels to maximize every trip. When parcel volumes skyrocketed during lockdowns due to increased online shopping, we were able to scale our operations quickly and work with our network of courier partners to meet that demand.

What has surprised you most about the pandemic’s effect on e-commerce?

McGrouther: The pandemic sparked a major shift in consumer buying behavior — with stay-at-home orders in place, we had no choice but to buy online. This meteoric shift is here to stay as consumers enjoy the ease and convenience of home deliveries, it will also be powered faster by advanced technologies making the buying process easier than ever before. With Sendle’s customers, we also see that there is a more conscious effort from consumers to buy from small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), supporting local communities which is fantastic to see.

It also seems that the past 18 months have sparked a major shift in lifestyles. While athleisure proved popular last year as we all stayed home, it continues its growth trajectory despite overseas restrictions easing in our key lanes such as the U.S. and UK. The boom also continues for Australian wellness products, kitchenware, and pet accessories.

Moody: We have been blown away by how quickly consumer behavior change can occur. The pandemic caused the greatest shift to online the world has ever seen and with that came consumers old and young shopping online in droves.

The shift initially sent shockwaves through the traditional retail sector but has ultimately created new levels of opportunity for small businesses that have either expanded their online offering or pivoted online for the first time.

Living with the pandemic has led to more entrepreneurs pivoting towards the e-commerce space. (Photo: Sendle)

At Sendle, we have seen the proliferation of side hustlers — people who run a small business on top of a day job — who have been able to set up an online business within minutes on their iPhone or iPad, thanks to easy access to e-commerce platforms and tools like FourSquare.

What logistics lessons did you draw from the peak season last year, and how different do you think this year’s will be?

McGrouther: Last year, we experienced various challenges across our key export lanes with many countries impacted by a second Covid-19 wave. But as I mentioned earlier, we kept freight moving by maintaining agility in our operations while proactively communicating with our customers.

Despite the ongoing pandemic, we are still expecting another record-breaking season for e-commerce sales. The rising popularity of Buy Now Pay Later (BNPL) programs, where consumers make a purchase and pay for it in instalments over time, will likely further boost this year’s e-commerce peak season.

Such solutions are not only enabling more trade across domestic and international borders but are also making online shopping a fuss-free process for consumers, many of whom now prefer e-commerce over shopping at physical retail stores. We believe this holiday season will prove once again that e-commerce is the way forward.

Moody: During the 2020 peak selling and shipping season, we learnt that flexibility is key. To be resilient during these uncertain times, it is critical for businesses to build flexibility into their operations.

Planning ahead, especially for peak season, is crucial. The earlier a business starts stocking up and preparing for these busy times, the more prepared they will be when something unexpected occurs. This could mean bringing on more staff to help cope with demand during peak, making sure you are well stocked, and pre-packing products.

With Sydney and Melbourne back in protracted lockdowns, we have watched our parcel volumes increase again. For example, Sydney parcel volumes increased by 88 percent from mid-July to mid-September compared to the months prior while Sendle’s Melbourne parcel volumes increased by 46 percent during the same period.

We are predicting another record-breaking parcel delivery season this Christmas peak from October to December 2021.

If you could offer a tip for businesses to prepare themselves for the peak season, what would it be?

McGrouther: Being transparent will help businesses tackle the influx of queries that arise during the peak season. We can do that by simply being upfront about estimated delivery times and encouraging consumers to shop early will help manage peak December enquiries.

Ahead of the busy period, businesses should also re-evaluate priority markets and product focus, offer cost-tiered freight options to customers, and integrate logistics into their CRM and customer engagement activity.

Moody: Shipping can make or break the customer experience, so it is important to get prepared early. Based on Sendle data, we predict our parcel volumes will surge again like they did last peak season so our message to retailers and small businesses is to get organized now because people will start Christmas shopping from early October onwards. And if you can afford it, hire some temporary staff to help pack your parcels.

Publicize your ship-by dates loud and clear. You can do this via direct email to customers or by putting them in an obvious place on your website.

Exercise some patience and be kind to your delivery drivers who have been extra busy during the coronavirus pandemic as they deliver record volumes. Please be patient and understand there might be extended wait times as a result, and make sure you inform your customers through your various communication channels and set realistic expectations with delivery times.

One thing for certain is that e-commerce is here to stay. Staying on top of trends helps businesses stay relevant, but the top priority for companies ahead of the peak season is to ensure their logistics operations are tightly integrated into the way they work and capable of addressing the shipping needs of different customers.

DHL eCommerce Solutions Australia is Sendle’s international logistics partner for cross-border deliveries.

How do you think we can improve similar articles in the future?

Please select a feedback option
Please leave a comment
Thank you for leaving your feedback