IT支持的转型可随时随地获取生产力

随着远程工作成为一种永久性的选择,各公司正在转变为物流合作伙伴,以保证工人的供应和生产力。
IT experts supply chain_hero
2021 年 11月 02 日 •

新冠肺炎疫情爆发以来的18个月,无论公司位于何处,IT支持都已经成为其试图保持员工生产力的关键后勤挑战。

随着科技巨头公司将目光投向像敦豪这样的物流公司,从软件安装到坏损鼠标的更换,他们参与了数十万员工的电脑使用周期管理,使得公司的内部职能转变为外部合作。

“敦豪供应链看到了将一套增值服务纳入供应链的机会,”敦豪供应链亚太区首席信息官Noel Singgih表示。该公司已经培训并雇佣了一批能够在项目的最后阶段进行干预并提供技术支持的工程师。

DHL supply chain warehouse experts

居家工作仍在持续,风险重重

过去一年半的时间里,工作文化发生了巨大的变化。世界各地的IT团队快速推进了即将持续数年的远程工作实施计划——毫无疑问,这些团队都是疫情期间的无名英雄。

然而,即使员工因身体原因而离职,他们也得继续手头的工作。公司已经迅速试验并实施了配套的基础设施,以保证员工能随时随地与公司获取联系并输出生产力。

例如,Zoom和Microsoft Teams等虚拟协作平台,已经成为团队工作和日常互动的必备应用。IT服务巨头埃森哲公司取得领先,推出了一个完全沉浸式的虚拟办公空间。 the Nth Floor,创造了一种无视现实距离的虚拟互动平台。这些平台允许他们实现无缝互动,而不受地理位置的限制,因此人们可能不用再进入实体办公室。

在一些关键的亚太市场。 领英网 甚至观察到了远程办公职位的增长趋势。

Ecommerce,Concept,,In,Office,Or,Home,Working,Prepare,Product,In

然而,这给IT团队带来了新的挑战。

在公共场所、共享网络上工作或错误处理机密信息时,给网络安全带来的威胁变得更加明显。一些组织通过以下 生物识别技术来减轻风险,包括用语音、面部或行为识别工具来验证登录其系统的用户。例如,语音电话可以通过实时认证来确定人们是在与正确的人通话,这是一个比询问验证问题更高效且有效的网络安全解决方案。

供应链是如何适应远程工作的?

为了应对新常态下的这些挑战,供应链专家已经着手升级虚拟但至关重要的支持网络,该网络在整个疫情期间安全地建立了数百万个居家办公室。服务物流的兴起巩固了产能,改善了下游甚至是现场服务用户的技能和解决方案。

Singgih说:“技术公司曾经派专门的工程师团队到各地开展工作,但劳动力成本和劳动力短缺带来了挑战,延迟了服务的进程。”

Singgih还表示:“在整个疫情期间,向远程工作的快速转变要求更广泛地对服务进行分配,且对维修和更换的周转率施加了压力。”
虽然员工以前有即时的现场支持来满足他们的IT需求,但在居家工作时,更换零件的请求需要上游人员进行快速的响应从而保证服务质量。

因此,服务物流正在成为科技公司保持领先地位的基石,必须拥有适合当今工作环境的供应链。

Singgih说:“随着居家工作或者在其他地方工作成为一种常态,在集中式服务台工作的支持员工已经成为了一种旧式概念,正逐渐被淘汰。”

敦豪供应链正在利用我们分布在全球的训练有素的技术服务团队,帮助企业建立能力和保证所有远程工作人员能够持续创造生产力的能力。”

让关键的IT支持走进您的家门

管理一条分布更加广泛的供应链并不是轻而易举的。

鉴于较敏感的时间安排和有限的资源访问等因素,与商业地址相比,在家里为终端用户提供服务更为棘手。

“基本的故障排除可以覆盖大约60%到70%的情况。通过升级我们的服务,我们已经能够减少不必要的退货和为客户提供专业化支持的费用,”Singgih说道。

Portrait,Of,Asian,Young,Man,Fix,A,Problem,With,Keyboard

然而,在尽可能靠近远程员工集群的地方设立专门的单位,使得敦豪能够按照与客户商定的一套程序,简化标准的IT流程和资产分配或回收。例如,可以在仓库中为全新的笔记本电脑上安装所需的软件,这样可以节省时间和资源。

“在IT领域,我们将之称为映象安装,”Singgih说。 “我们的团队可以根据公司要求的标准来配置硬件。退货管理也是如此--我们的团队可以检测和评估相关问题,然后与我们的技术客户一起按照预设的流程进行修复、处置或将设备送去做更深层次的分析。”

“在远程工作环境中,这些之前的后台流程被搬到了前台,也就是您的家里。”

支持亚太地区技术领域的业务连续性

随着2020年年中新冠肺炎疫情对亚太地区造成了重创,敦豪供应链面临着如何让两个全球科技巨头与全亚太区数十万员工保持联系的挑战。

有一个解决方案就是利用敦豪位于印度各地的服务中心。资产服务、支持人员和专用的“milk run”车辆分布在七个不同的地点,以覆盖居住在政府排名第二和第三的城市的员工。新建立的本地、城际和州际网络实现了时限性交付,以最短的停工时间保证业务的连续性。

另一个客户要求在新加坡、印度和菲律宾组装和交付定制的工作设备。在三个月内,建立了一个端到端的交付网络,包括用于设备使用周期管理的资产标签、配置设备的成像室,以及用于数据擦除、翻新、修复和废弃管理等活动的退货和包装区。

遵循国际安全和合规标准,端到端交付网络正在帮助连接超过20万名员工,维持全球两到三天的服务周转。实施资产生命周期管理也符合敦豪的可持续发展议程,能够减少整个供应链的浪费现象。

DHL supply chain warehouse operations
Service logistics breaks order fulfilment down and optimizes processes with designated areas and solutions for picking, imaging, staging, and packing before the shipment is ready to go.

实现全面循环--服务物流促进供应链的可持续性

最后,服务物流的一个明显的优点就是可以创造一条更加持续的供应链。

有证据 显示,巩固供应链的能力有助于减少碳排放,特别是在 运输业供应链方面,该领域是碳排放的最大罪魁祸首之一。

此外,更多地参与资产回收和生命周期管理,使物流团队能够实施端到端的解决方案,确保数据安全,同时可以最大限度地利用资源。

为了解通过资产回收可能获得的价值,要考虑到被退回的4%到10%的消费类电子产品,敦豪供应链全球技术服务部副总裁Mark Watson表示。退回的物品中,约有20%至50%可被定性为“未发现故障”,因此可以将它们转售。

“例如,在欧洲,我们帮助我们的一个商业伙伴对二手移动设备进行分级和评估,以便进行二次使用或转售--有效地将它们重新引导到循环经济中,”Singgih说。“我们通过这个项目和由此产生的系统所获得的专业知识可以很容易地部署在我们未来的任何服务物流项目中,而且可以分布在全球任何地方。”

Productivity anytime, anywhere thanks to a transformation in IT support

As remote working becomes a permanent option, companies are turning to logistics partners to keep workers provided for and productive.
IT experts supply chain_hero
02 November 2021 •

More than 18 months into the pandemic, IT support has become a key logistical challenge for companies trying to keep their staff productive, wherever they are.

This has moved what was once an in-house function to an external partnership, as tech giants turn to a logistics company like DHL to manage the life cycle of hundreds of thousands of workers' computers, from installing software to replacing broken mice.

“DHL Supply Chain saw the opportunity to integrate a suite of value-added services into the supply chain,” said Noel Singgih, Chief Information Officer at DHL Supply Chain Asia Pacific. The company has both trained and hired a pool of engineers able to intervene and provide technical support in the last mile.

DHL supply chain warehouse experts

With work from home set to stay, risks abound

The past year and a half has revolutionized work culture. Years-long plans to implement remote working were put in fast forward by IT teams all over the world—no doubt some of the unsung heroes of the pandemic.

Yet, even with workers separated for health reasons, work must go on. Companies have rapidly experimented and implemented a supporting infrastructure to keep employees connected and productive from anywhere, at any time.

Virtual collaboration platforms such as Zoom and Microsoft Teams, for example, have become essential for teamwork and everyday interactions. IT services giant Accenture went a step further and launched a fully immersive virtual office space, the Nth Floor, creating a semblance of interaction without the physical aspect. Such platforms might make it possible to never step into a physical office again, as they enable seamless interactions regardless of geographic separation.

In some key Asia Pacific markets, LinkedIn has even observed an uptick in remote job postings.

Ecommerce,Concept,,In,Office,Or,Home,Working,Prepare,Product,In

This, however, is raising a new challenge for IT teams.

Threats to cybersecurity are more pronounced when working in public spaces, on shared networks, or mishandling confidential information. Some organizations mitigate risks with biometrics — voice, facial, or behavior recognition tools that verify those logging onto their systems. For example, voice calls can be authenticated in real time to ascertain one is speaking to the right individual, a more efficient and effective cybersecurity solution than asking verification questions.

How supply chains are adapting to remote working 

To address these challenges in the new norm, supply chain experts have moved to upgrade the invisible but essential support network that securely set up millions of home offices throughout the pandemic. The rise of service logistics consolidates capabilities, improving skillsets and solutions to service users downstream and even onsite.

“Technology companies used to send around teams of specialized engineers, but labor costs and shortages present challenges and delay servicing,” said Singgih.

“Throughout the pandemic, the accelerated shift to remote working demanded more widely distributed services and placed pressure on turnover rates for repair and replacement,” said Singgih. While employees previously had immediate onsite support for their IT needs, requesting replacement parts from home urges quicker fulfilment upstream to maintain service quality.

Service logistics is thus becoming a cornerstone for tech companies looking to stay ahead of the curve, with supply chains fitted for today’s work environment.

“As working from home or anywhere become the norm, the old concept of a centralized Helpdesk to support employees is becoming obsolete," said Singgih.

"DHL Supply Chain is leveraging our globally distributed presence of trained technical service teams to help companies build up the capacity and capability to enable sustained productivity across all their remote workers’ operations.” 

Bringing crucial IT support to your doorstep

Managing a more widely dispersed supply chain is not without its challenges.

Servicing end users at home is trickier compared to commercial addresses, due to factors such as sensitive time scheduling and limited access to resources.

“Basic troubleshooting can cover around 60 to 70 percent of cases. By upgrading our services, we have been able to cut down unnecessary returns and costs of sending specialized support for our customers,” said Singgih.

Portrait,Of,Asian,Young,Man,Fix,A,Problem,With,Keyboard

However, setting up specialized units as close as possible to clusters of remote workers has allowed DHL to streamline standard IT processes and asset distribution or recovery, following a set of procedures agreed upon with the client. Installing required software on brand new laptops, for example, can be implemented in the warehouse, saving time and resources.

“In IT, we call this image installation,” said Singgih. “Our teams can configure the hardware according to the standards required by companies. The same goes for return management — our team can detect and assess the problem before following a preset process with our tech clients to fix, dispose of, or send equipment in for deeper analysis.

“In a remote work environment, these previously back-office processes are being brought into the front office, right at your home address.”

Supporting business continuity in APAC’s technology sector

As Covid-19 hit Asia Pacific hard in mid-2020, DHL Supply Chain faced the challenge of keeping two global tech giants connected to hundreds of thousands of employees region-wide.

One solution leveraged DHL’s service centers located throughout India. Asset services, support personnel and dedicated “milk run” vehicles were distributed across seven locations to cover employees residing in government-ranked tier 2 and 3 cities. The newly established local, inter-city and inter-state network enabled time-bound deliveries for business continuity with minimal downtime.

Another client required assembly and delivery of custom work kits across Singapore, India, and the Philippines. Within three months, an end-to-end delivery network was set up, comprising services such as asset tagging for device life cycle management, imaging rooms to configure devices, as well as returns and packing areas for activities like data wiping, refurbishments, repairs, and scrap management.

Following international safety and compliance standards, the end-to-end delivery network is helping to connect over 200,000 workers, with a global two to three-day service turnaround. Implementing Asset Life Cycle management also aligns with DHL’s sustainability agenda, reducing waste throughout the supply chain.

DHL supply chain warehouse operations
Service logistics breaks order fulfilment down and optimizes processes with designated areas and solutions for picking, imaging, staging, and packing before the shipment is ready to go.

Going full circle – service logistics promoting sustainability in supply chain

Finally, a strong benefit of service logistics is the creation of a more sustainable supply chain.

Evidence has shown that consolidating supply chain capabilities can help to reduce carbon emissions, especially in transportation, one of the largest culprits of carbon emissions.

Furthermore, being more involved in asset recovery and life cycle management has enabled logistics teams to implement end-to-end solutions that ensure data security while maximizing resources.

To get a sense of how much value is potentially available through asset recovery, consider that four to 10 percent of consumer electronic devices are returned, said Mark Watson, Vice President, Global Technical Services, DHL Supply Chain. Around 20 to 50 percent of those returned items can be characterized as “no fault found” and can therefore be resold.

“In Europe, for example, we help one of our business partners to grade and assess used mobile devices for second-hand usage or resale — effectively channeling them back into a circular economy,” said Singgih. “The expertise we acquired through this project and resulting systems can easily be deployed in any of our service logistics projects in the future, anywhere in the world.”

How do you think we can improve similar articles in the future?

Please select a feedback option
Please leave a comment
Thank you for leaving your feedback