同样值得阅读的文章

海运运费正趋于可控水平

供需平衡将是未来几个月稳定运费的关键。
供需平衡将是未来几个月稳定运费的关键。
2022 年 10月 17 日 •

随着有效船舶供应增加,一些关键进口市场的需求放缓,2022年的海运旺季表现低迷,导致运费下降。

据大多数航运分析师称,虽然集装箱运输公司在10月初取消了黄金周的航班,但反应速度还是太慢。现预计将出现更多空航和服务暂停的情况。

即便如此,按照订单簿来看,明年有大量新船舶交付,现在许多人想知道集装箱运输的发展空间在哪里。事实上,报告显示,运输公司正在积极寻找货物,并准备将船只闲置起来

“今年,中国的工厂关闭时,没有像以往那样在黄金周之前出现争抢舱位的现象,”DGF亚太区首席执行官Kelvin Leung说。

DHL的《每月海运市场更新报告》指出,运力需求与供应之间平衡已得到大幅改善,尽管10月初运输公司取消航班可能预示着未来会削减更多服务。

“港口拥堵已有所缓解,尽管英国港口工人的罢工造成一些运输服务中断,但是美国东海岸港口仍有船只排队,这抵消了美国西海岸港口的改善状态。”Leung补充说。

物流瓶颈在亚洲也依然存在。中国政府的动态清零政策已经影响了成都、大连、广州、深圳和天津等主要制造和出口中心。虽然港口运作不受限制,但是制造业和内陆物流却受到了不同程度的影响。

集装箱运输公司进退两难

2020年第二季度到2022年第二季度期间,集装箱运输公司获得了4,000亿美元的利润,Drewry航运分析公司预计目前正处于“受控衰退”期,以确定运输公司将保留多少此类超周期回报。

“运输公司面临一个巨大的挑战,就是完全控制他们能控制的——供应,”Drewry报告称。“问题是挑战太多,他们在多个方面受到攻击。”

其中一个方面是,随着瓶颈情况得到缓解,因供应链/港口拥堵“流失”的潜在运力正在重返市场。Drewry指出:“拥堵消退后,运力将增加。到2023年,瓶颈本身只会减少市场约7%的有效运力。”

根据海事分析公司Sea-Intelligence的数据,1月份全球有大量船只停滞在港口,到8月份50%的港口拥堵问题已得到解决。由此释放的额外运力填补了实际的运力缺口,并增加了即期运费的下行压力。自第二季度以来,主要东西贸易航线的即期运费一直在下降。

严重影响集装箱航运市场供应侧的另一个因素是过去两年的船舶订购量。这使得全球订单/船队比率在九月末突破30%,据Alphaliner称,这是从大约两年前的9%低位一路上升。分析师预计2023年和2024年船舶供应将大于需求,到时需要交付的货物数量将创下新纪录。

需求前景

由于战争风险、能源成本飞涨、政治不稳定和普遍的通货膨胀,需求前景将继续走弱,所有这些因素正在影响整体消费支出,从而影响交易量。

标普全球欧元区制造业PMI指数(采购经理人指数)从8月份的49.6降至9月份的48.4,这表明欧元区商品生产商的经营条件进一步恶化。

标普全球市场情报公司首席商业经济学家Chris Williamson表示,制造业陷入衰退,通胀压力日益增加,两个因素叠加将进一步加剧人们对欧元区经济前景的担忧。

他补充说:“除了最初因疫情封城,自2009年初全球金融危机以来,欧元区制造商还没有见过如此大规模的需求和生产崩溃现象。

虽然美国的经济前景比欧洲要光明得多,但是进口增长势头现在正在放缓。Hackett Associates创始人Ben Hackett表示:“美国进口量的增长已经失去动力,尤其是失去了来自亚洲的货物”。

“即便消费者仍在消费,零售商库存充足,最近运输公司削减运力的举措反映了市场对零售商品的需求不断下降。

“此外,中国10月国庆黄金周期间工厂关闭,中国政府持续实施动态清零政策,这些也影响了生产,导致太平洋那一侧航运运力需求下降。”

由于GDP预测大幅下调,Drewry公司目前已将2022年和2023年全球集装箱处理需求展望分别下调至1.5%1.9%

运输公司的行动

Drewry指出,尽管运费连续数月下滑,但是目前的即期运费对于运输公司来说仍然利润丰厚。即便如此,这家分析公司认为集装箱运输公司不会坐以待毙。该公司预测,船舶交付将被推迟,无利可图的船舶将被出售或报废,多项服务将被暂停。

“即使运输公司完全按照我们所预测的去做,这些联合行动仍不足以完全消除明年的供需缺口,预计有效运力净增长为11.3%,远高于1.9%的预期需求增长, Drewry报告称。不过,增加错过的航班将使供需更接近,并应该足以保持运费和利润高于2019年的水平。

同时,对航运客户来说更有利的供需平衡最终也会改善服务可靠性。据Sea-Intelligence公司的数据显示,8月份全球船期可靠性比7月份提高了5.8%,而迟到船只的平均延迟时间也大幅下降。

“全球供应链仍然面临多处中断,但随着拥堵缓解和更多运力释放,运输公司的服务水平有所提高,我们预计这一趋势将会继续。然而,供需平衡将是未来几个月维持运费稳定的关键,我们正在非常认真地监控这一发展趋势,”DGF全球海运负责人Dominique von Orelli说。

相关主题
相关主题

Your default browser language is set to . Browse this site in another language: Continue color Created with Sketch.
  • Newsletter subscription (View Sample)
  • Get a sales representative to contact me
  • I agree to the  Terms and Privacy Notice
ALSO WORTH READING

Ocean freight rate moving towards manageable levels

The balance between supply and demand will be the key to rates stability in the months to come.
The balance between supply and demand will be the key to rates stability in the months to come.
17 October 2022 •

A muted peak shipping season in 2022 has prompted a downward shift for freight rate levels as effective vessel supply increases and demand into some key import markets slows.

Container lines have responded – albeit, far too slowly, according to most shipping analysts – by blanking sailings for Golden Week in early October. More blank sailings and service suspensions are now expected.

Even so, with the orderbook set to deliver huge amounts of new box capacity next year, many are now wondering where the floor is for container shipping. Indeed, reports suggest that carriers are aggressively seeking cargo and preparing to lay ships up.

“This year, we did not see the normal rush for space ahead of Golden Week when factories close in China,” said Kelvin Leung, CEO, DHL Global Forwarding Asia Pacific.

DHL’s monthly Ocean Freight Market Update noted that the capacity demand and supply balance is much improved, although the blanked sailings by carriers in early October could be a sign of more service cuts to come.

“We’ve seen an easing of port congestion, although labor strikes at ports in the U.K. are causing some disruption and we’re still seeing vessel queues on the U.S. east coast which has offset improvements at U.S. west coast ports,” added Leung.

Logistics bottlenecks also remain in Asia. The Chinese government’s dynamic zero Covid-19 policy has impacted major manufacturing and exporting centers like Chengdu, Dalian, Guangzhou, Shenzhen and Tianjin. Whilst port operations are exempt from restrictions, manufacturing and inland logistics have been affected to varying degrees.

Container line dilemmas

After container lines racked up profits of USD 400 billion from Q2 2020 to Q2 2022, shipping analyst firm Drewry expects the period of ‘managed decline’ now underway to determine how much of those super-cycle returns carriers will keep.

“Lines face an enormous challenge taming the one thing they have control over – supply,” reported Drewry. “The problem is - there is a lot of it, and they are being attacked on multiple fronts.”

One of those fronts is that latent capacity “lost” due to supply chain/port congestion is now returning to the market as bottlenecks ease. “As congestion fades, capacity will increase inversely and for 2023 we see bottlenecks on their own only stripping around 7 percent of effective capacity from the market,” noted Drewry.

According to maritime analysis firm Sea-Intelligence, 50 percent of the global port congestion that was tying up vessels at ports in January had been cleared by August. The release of this extra capacity has relieved physical shortages of capacity and added to downward pressure on spot freight rates which have been in decline on the major East-West trades since the second quarter.

Another factor weighing heavily on the supply side of the container shipping market is vessel ordering over the last two years. This has pushed the global orderbook-to-fleet ratio to just under 30 percent by late September, up from a low of around 9 percent some two years prior, according to Alphaliner. Record deliveries are due in 2023 and 2024 when analysts expect vessel supply to outstrip demand.

Demand outlook

The demand side outlook continues to weaken on war risk, skyrocketing energy costs, political instability and general inflation, all of which are now impacting overall consumer spending and thus trade volumes.

The S&P Global Eurozone Manufacturing PMI fell to 48.4 in September, from 49.6 in August, signaling a further worsening of operating conditions for euro area goods producers.

Chris Williamson, Chief Business Economist at S&P Global Market Intelligence said the “ugly combination” of a manufacturing sector in recession and rising inflationary pressures would add further to concerns about the outlook for the eurozone economy.

“Excluding the initial pandemic lockdowns, eurozone manufacturers have not seen a collapse of demand and production on this scale since the height of the global financial crisis in early 2009,” he added.

While the economic picture is far brighter in the U.S. than in Europe, the import boom is now slowing. “The growth in U.S. import volume has run out of steam, especially for cargo from Asia,” said Ben Hackett, founder of Hackett Associates.

“Recent cuts in carriers’ shipping capacity reflect falling demand for merchandise from well-stocked retailers even as consumers continue to spend.

“Meanwhile, the closure of factories during China’s October Golden Week holiday along with the Chinese government’s continuing zero Covid-19 policy have impacted production, reducing demand for shipping capacity from that side of the Pacific as well.”

Drewry has now lowered its global container handling demand outlook for 2022 and 2023 to 1.5 percent, and to 1.9 percent, respectively, on the back of heavily downgraded GDP predictions.

Carrier action

Drewry points out that current spot freight rates remain highly profitable for carriers despite months of declines. Even so, the analyst firm does not expect container lines to sit idly as rates slide. It predicts ship deliveries will be pushed back, unprofitable ships will be offloaded or scrapped, and multiple services will be suspended.

“Assuming carriers do exactly as we expect, those combined actions will still be insufficient to fully bridge the supply-demand gap next year, with an estimated net increase in effective capacity of 11.3 percent way above the projected demand growth of 1.9 percent,” reported Drewry. “Adding in missed sailings will, however, get them closer and should be enough to keep freight rates and profits above 2019 levels.”

In the meantime, the more favorable supply-demand balance for shipping’s customers is also finally prompting improvements in service reliability. Global schedule reliability improved by 5.8 percentage points in August compared to July while the average delay for late vessel arrivals also dropped sharply, according to Sea-Intelligence.

“Global supply chains still face a lot of disruption, but we’re seeing service levels from carriers improve as congestion eases and more capacity is freed up, and we expect this trend to continue. However, the balance between supply and demand will be the key to rates stability in the months to come and we are monitoring this development very carefully,” said Dominique von Orelli, Global Head, Ocean Freight, DHL Global Forwarding.


RELATED TOPICS
RELATED TOPICS