ALSO WORTH READING

海洋货运更加绿色环保的未来

现在是时候响应减少温室气体排放号召了,为更加清洁、更加可持续发展的海运解决方案铺平道路。
通过 梁 启元 |
航运业是全球贸易的支柱。如今世界上近90%的货物是通过海运方式运输的,亚太地区的港口占国际贸易量的50%以上。敦豪全球货运的全球贸易晴雨表调查分析来自7个国家的2.4亿个进出口数据点。这些国家占全球贸易的75%以上。其中四个国家(中国、印度、日本和韩国)都在亚洲。

国际海事组织(IMO)进行的第四次温室气体研究发现,2018年全球海运排放了10.76亿吨二氧化碳。如果这个问题不解决的话,那么,行业排放量可能会增加50%至250%,因为到2050年货运需求可能会增加三倍。所以迫切需要减少温室气体(GHG)排放,为更加清洁、更加可持续发展的海运解决方案铺平道路。

使用绿色环保燃料作为海上船只的动力来源

现代货运利用数字化来消除文书工作并最大限度地提高效率。然而,大多数船只仍然使用重燃油。重燃油燃烧时,会排放大量二氧化碳以及其他已知会对环境和人类健康产生负面影响的污染物。如果船舶继续使用这类燃料,到2050年,航运业排放的二氧化碳将占全球二氧化碳排放量的17%。

敦豪全球货运与承运商合作伙伴合作,在船舶上使用替代的可持续性海洋燃料,并为客户提供跨国际航线的拼箱货(LCL)和整箱货(FCL)的脱碳选择方案。为所有整箱货运输提供可持续性的海洋燃料,使客户能够在整个海洋货运航线实现脱碳。这是继为拼箱货运输提供类似服务后的又一次成功。

转向海洋生物燃料并非没有挑战。必须使用“即用型”燃料,以避免对发动机进行改进的需要,而非即用型燃料需要使用经过改进或专门制造的发动机。生物燃料本身也是不可持续利用的;生产生物燃料使用的森林砍伐和资源密集型耕作方法也会对环境造成一定的影响。植物性生物燃料的生产方式不得改变土地的用途。例如,生物燃料的生产不得与其他土地使用需要相抗争,如粮食生产。

碳“嵌入”开辟了一条新的、充满希望的道路。

为了减轻航运业的碳足迹,各个企业传统上一直寻求通过投资负碳项目(如植树造林或可再生能源)来抵消其碳排放量。然而,2018年,2.68亿美元(2.32亿欧元)的自愿性碳抵消市场中,只有0.2%进入了运输相关的项目。碳抵消可对环境产生积极的影响,但不会减少航运业本身排放的温室气体。

此外,行业外抵消会削弱创新和推进碳中和货运和其他绿色物流解决方案的动机。相比之下,碳“嵌入”为减少排放行业的碳排放量的项目提供资助,如可持续性燃料、船队更新、发动机改造和效率项目。这种行业专用的方法迫使投资重返该行业,用于开发更绿色环保的技术。

在海运行业内进行碳嵌入需要行业和消费者的模式转变。航运业可以采取第一步具体的步骤,根据行业公认的标准,如全球物流业排放委员会框架,制定碳嵌入会计和报告准则。下一个关键的步骤是承认并将这些准则纳入现有和未来的报告和会计准则。

携手合作

海运业转型的道路非常复杂,需要大量的资源和投资来实现净零目标。为此,德国邮政敦豪集团到2030年将在气候中性物流解决方案上投资约70亿欧元。数字平台可以帮助提供运费、运输模式、碳排放和其他相关运输数据的可见性和透明性管理。国际海事组织预计,2008年至2050年,国际航运业温室气体排放量将减少50%。航运业脱碳是每个利益相关者都应该承担的责任。为了真正推动有意义的变革,我们需要在整个行业看到更大的合作机会—包括运营商、燃料供应商、监管机构、投资者、企业和客户。世界海洋脱碳是一个全球性的问题,需要各方作出贡献。我们可以做得更多,只要我们齐心协力,就可以一起完成这项工作。

世界海洋亚太峰会将以虚拟大会的形式于2021年12月6日至10日召开。参与者可免费登记参加。敦豪全球货运亚太区首席执行官Dr. Kelvin Leung 将就通过共同责任减少海洋排放的问题发表演讲。他的博客是演讲者系列的一部分。请在这里访问所有的演讲者博客。

本文最初发表于此,并经授权转载。

ALSO WORTH READING

A greener future for ocean freight

It is time to answer the call to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and pave the way for cleaner, more sustainable sea-freight solutions.
By Kelvin Leung |

The shipping industry forms the backbone of global trade. Almost 90% of all goods in the world today are transported by sea, with ports in the Asia-Pacific region accounting for more than 50% of international trade volumes. DHL Global Forwarding’s Global Trade Barometer examines 240m import and export data points from seven countries that represent more than 75% of global trade. Four of these (China, India, Japan and South Korea) are in Asia.

The Fourth Greenhouse Gas study conducted by the International Maritime Organization (IMO)  found that global ocean freight emitted 1,076 million tons of carbon dioxide in 2018. Unaddressed, industry emissions could increase between 50% and 250%, as demand for freight shipping may expand threefold by 2050. There is an urgent need to reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions and pave the way for cleaner, more sustainable sea-freight solutions.

Green fuels to power the vessels at sea

Modern cargo shipping uses digitization to eliminate paperwork and maximize efficiency. Yet most ships still run on heavy fuel oil. When burned, it emits high levels of carbon dioxide alongside other pollutants known to negatively impact environmental and human health. If vessels continue to run on such fuels, the shipping industry will be responsible for as much as 17% of global carbon-dioxide emissions by 2050.

DHL Global Forwarding works with carrier partners to use alternative sustainable marine fuels in vessels and provide customers with the option to decarbonize less-than-container-load (LCL) and full-container load (FCL) shipments across international shipping lanes. Offering the use of sustainable marine fuels for all FCL shipments enables customers to decarbonize their entire ocean freight lanes. This follows the success of a similar service for LCL shipments.

Switching to marine biofuel is not without its challenges. “Drop-in” fuels must be used to avoid the need to modify engines, while non-drop-in fuels require engines that have been modified or specially built. Biofuels are also not inherently sustainable; deforestation and resource-intensive farming methods used to produce biofuel carry their own environmental imprint. Plant-based biofuels need to be produced in a way that does not change land use. For example, biofuel production must not compete with other land-use needs, such as food production.

Carbon “insetting” opens a new and promising pathway

To mitigate the shipping industry’s carbon footprint, companies have traditionally looked to offset their carbon emissions by investing in carbon-negative projects such as afforestation or renewable energy. However, only 0.2% of the US$268 million (€232 million) voluntary carbon-offset market went into transport-related projects in 2018. Carbon-offsetting can have a positive impact on the environment, but it does not reduce GHGs emitted by the shipping sector itself.

What’s more, offsetting outside the sector reduces the incentive to innovate and advance carbon-neutral freight and other green logistics solutions. By contrast, carbon “insetting” funds projects that reduce carbon emissions in the sector where they are emitted, such as sustainable fuel, fleet renewal, engine retrofitting and efficiency projects. This sector-specific approach drives investment back into the industry to develop greener technologies.

Insetting within the sea-freight sector requires a paradigm shift from both the industry and consumers. Shipping can take the first concrete step to develop guidelines for carbon inset accounting and reporting based on an industry-recognized standard, such as the framework developed by the Global Logistics Emissions Council. The next critical step is acknowledging and integrating these guidelines into existing and future reporting and accounting standards.

Working together

The road to transitioning the ocean-freight industry is complex and requires significant resources and commitment to achieve a net-zero target. To this end, Deutsche Post DHL Group is investing around €7 billion in climate-neutral logistics solutions by 2030. Digital platforms can help to provide visibility and transparent management of freight rates, transport modes, carbon emissions and other relevant shipment data. IMO envisions a 50% reduction in GHG emissions from international shipping between 2008 and 2050. Decarbonizing the shipping industry is a responsibility that every stakeholder should shoulder. To truly drive meaningful change, we need to see greater collaboration across the entire industry—operators, fuel providers, regulators, investors, businesses and customers alike. Decarbonizing the world’s oceans is a global problem that needs dedication from all parties. More can be done, and with all hands on deck, we can accomplish this together.

The World Ocean Summit Asia-Pacific will run as a virtual event on December 6th-10th 2021. Register for free. Dr. Kelvin Leung will be speaking on the topic of reducing maritime emissions through shared responsibility. His blog is part of The Speaker Series. Access all speaker blogs here.

This article was originally published here and was republished with permission.